UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.
Draw is live

Women's World Cup play-off draw: 9 September

Nyon - - your local time


Women's World Cup play-off draw: 9 September

The UEFA play-offs will decide two automatic qualifiers and one team heading to the inter-confederation play-offs.

FIFA via Getty Images

The European play-offs for the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup will be played between 3 and 11 October 2022, with the draw on 9 September.

Confirmed in play-offs so far


In the play-offs, the three best qualifying group stage runners-up will be seeded directly to round 2 of the play-offs. The six remaining runners-up contest three single-leg play-offs in round 1.

The three winners from round 1 and the three teams seeded directly to round 2 will then compete in single-leg play-offs determined by a draw.

The two play-off winners with the highest ranking (based on results in the qualifying group stage and round 2 play-offs) will qualify for the finals from 20 July to 20 August 2023 in Australia and New Zealand. The remaining play-off winner will compete in the inter-confederation play-offs.

Inter-confederation play-offs

A ten-team tournament will be held in New Zealand from 17 to 23 February 2023 to decide the last three finalists.

Continental allocation/Contenders
AFC: 2 (Chinese Taipei, Thailand)
CAF: 2 (Cameroon, Senegal)
CONCACAF: 2 (Haiti, Panama)
CONMEBOL: 2 (Chile, Paraguay)
OFC: 1 (Papua New Guinea)

The teams will be split into three groups: two of three teams and one of four, with seeding decided by FIFA ranking. All three groups will be played as separate knockout competitions, with the winner of each qualifying for the finals. In the two three-team groups, the seeded team will go straight to the final (after playing a friendly against New Zealand or a guest nation) and meet the winner of a semi-final between the other two teams in their group.

Finals: Continental allocation/qualified teams

Hosts: 2 (Australia, New Zealand)
AFC: 5 (China, Japan, Philippines*, South Korea, Vietnam*)
CAF: 4 (Morocco*, Nigeria, South Africa, Zambia*)
CONCACAF: 4 (Canada, Costa Rica, Jamaica, United States)
CONMEBOL: 3 (Argentina, Brazil, Colombia)
UEFA: 11 (Denmark, France, Spain, Sweden)
Inter-confederation play-offs: 3