UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Sweden and Denmark meet in play-offs

The draw for the 2011 FIFA Women's World Cup play-offs pitted Norway with Ukraine, France against Italy, England versus Switzerland and conjured a Scandinavian derby.

Norway are hoping to win their second World Cup
Norway are hoping to win their second World Cup ©Getty Images

Former champions Norway will face Ukraine for a place in the 2011 FIFA Women's World Cup finals after the play-off draw was made in Nyon.

The eight qualifying group winners will compete in four two-legged ties on 11/12 and 15/16 September for automatic berths alongside hosts Germany next summer. While 1995 winners Norway play Ukraine, 2003 runners-up Sweden take on Denmark, UEFA Women's EURO 2009 finalists England meet Switzerland, and France – who missed out on qualification in 2007 – face Italy.

The four play-off winners will be assured of final tournament places, yet the teams defeated in those ties will not be out of the running altogether. They will participate in additional two-legged knockout fixtures in October, which were also drawn today, with the eventual winners going on to play the third-ranked CONCACAF side for an extra berth in the 16-team final tournament due to take place from 26 June to 17 July 2011.

FIFA Women's World Cup play-off draw
Matches: 11/12 & 15/16 September
Winners qualify for final tournament
Defeated teams to UEFA-CONCACAF play-off
1: France v Italy
2: England v Switzerland
3: Ukraine v Norway
4: Sweden v Denmark
Round 1: 2/3 & 6/7 October
1: Loser of Play-off 4 v Loser of Play-off 2
2: Loser of Play-off 3 v Loser of Play-off 1
Round 2: 23/24 & 27/28 October
Winners face third-ranked CONCACAF team
Winner match 2 v Winner match 1