UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Germany and Norway drawn together

The draw has been made for next year's FIFA Women's World Cup in Canada, with Europe's only two previous winners – Germany and Norway – pitted together.

Germany last won the FIFA Women's World Cup in 2007
Germany last won the FIFA Women's World Cup in 2007 ©Getty Images

The draw has been made for the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup in Canada.

Europe have eight contenders in the 24-team tournament, which will be held from 6 June to 5 July next year. Two-time champions and European holders Germany have been pitted against Ivory Coast, 1995 winners Norway and Thailand. Debutants Switzerland, meanwhile, are up against holders Japan, Cameroon and Ecuador in Group C, with fellow first-timers the Netherlands – selected on Thursday to host UEFA Women's EURO 2017 – facing hosts Canada, China and New Zealand in Group A.

Group stage (6-18 June, European teams in bold)
Group A (First two matchdays in Edmonton): Canada (hosts), China, New Zealand, Netherlands

Group B (First two matchdays in Ottowa): Germany, Ivory Coast, Norway, Thailand

Group C (First two matchdays in Vancouver): Japan, Switzerland, Cameroon, Ecuador

Group D (First two matchdays in Winnipeg): United States, Australia, Sweden, Nigeria

Group E (First two matchdays in Montreal): Brazil, South Korea, Spain, Costa Rica

Group F (First two matchdays in Moncton): France, England, Colombia, Mexico

• Top two in each group go through with the four best third-placed teams.
• The finals will act as Europe's qualifier for the 2016 Olympic tournament in Brazil.

Knockout schedule
Round of 16:
20 June 
37: 1A v 2C (Edmonton)
39: 1B v 3A/C/D (Ottowa)
21 June
40: 1F v 2E (Montreal)
41: 1E v 2D (Moncton)
22 June
44: 1A v 3C/D/E (Vancouver)
38: 1D v 3B/E/F (Edmonton)
23 June
43: 2B v 2F (Ottowa)
42: 1C v 3A/B/F (Vancouver)

26 June
45: W37 v W38 (Ottowa)
46: W39 v W40 (Montreal)
27 June
47: W41 v W42 (Edmonton)
48: W43 v W44 (Vancouver)

30 June
49: W45 v W46 (Montreal)
50: W47 v W48 (Edmonton)

Third-place play-off:
4 July (Edmonton)

5 July (Vancouver)

Past World Cup finals (European teams in bold)
2011: Japan 2-2 United States (aet, 3-1 pens); Frankfurt, Germany
2007: Germany 2-0 Brazil; Shanghai, China
2003: Germany 1-0 Sweden (aet, golden goal); Carson, United States
1999: United States 0-0 China (aet, 5-4 pens); Pasadena, United States
1995: Norway 2-0 Germany; Stockholm, Sweden
1991: United States 2-1 Norway; Guangzhou, China

Selected for you