UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

2023 FIFA Women's World Cup finals: Australia/New Zealand

The 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup finals will be held in Australia and New Zealand from 20 July to 20 August of that year.

FIFA via Getty Images

The 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup finals will be played in Australia and New Zealand from 20 July to 20 August of that year.

There will be 32 finalists including both hosts with 11 or 12 European nations involved.


Continental allocation
Hosts: 2 (Australia, New Zealand)
AFC: 5
CAF: 4
UEFA: 11
Inter-confederation play-offs: 3

    European qualifying


    The winners of the nine qualifying groups will progress directly to the finals with the runners-up taking part in the UEFA play-offs in October 2022.

    In the play-offs, the three best runners-up will be seeded directly to round 2 of the play-offs. The six remaining runners-up contest three single-leg play-offs in round 1.

    The three winners from round 1 and the three teams seeded directly to round 2 will then compete in single-leg play-offs determined by a draw.

    The two play-off winners with the highest ranking (based on results in the qualifying group stage and round 2 play-offs) will qualify for the finals. The remaining play-off winner will compete in the inter-confederation play-offs.


    Qualifying group stage
    13–21 September 2021
    18–26 October 2021
    22–30 November 2021
    4–12 April 2022
    29 August–6 September 2022

    UEFA play-offs
    3–11 October 2022

    Inter-confederation play-offs

    A ten-team tournament will be held from 17 to 23 February 2023 in Australia and New Zealand to decide the last three finalists.

    Continental allocation
    AFC: 2
    CAF: 2
    OFC: 1
    UEFA: 1

    The teams will be split into three groups, two of three teams and one of four, with seeding decided by FIFA ranking. All three groups will be played as separate knock-out competitions with the winner of each qualifying for the finals. In the two three-team groups, the seeded team will go straight to the final (after playing a friendly against Australia or New Zealand) and meet the winner of a semi-final betweeen the other two nations.

    Past World Cup finals (European teams in bold)

    2019: United States 2-0 Netherlands; Lyon, France
    2015: United States 5-2 Japan; Vancouver, Canada
    2011: Japan 2-2 United States (aet, 3-1 pens); Frankfurt, Germany
    2007: Germany 2-0 Brazil; Shanghai, China
    2003: Germany 1-0 Sweden (aet, golden goal); Carson, United States
    1999: United States 0-0 China (aet, 5-4 pens); Pasadena, United States
    1995: Norway 2-0 Germany; Stockholm, Sweden
    1991: United States 2-1 Norway; Guangzhou, China

    Past Olympic medallists (European teams in bold)

    2016: Germany (gold), Sweden (silver), Canada (bronze); Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    2012: United States (gold), Japan (silver), Canada (bronze); London, United Kingdom
    2008: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze); Beijing, China
    2004: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze); Athens, Greece
    2000: Norway (gold), United States (silver), Germany (bronze); Sydney, Australia
    1996: United States (gold), China (silver), Norway (bronze); Atlanta, United States