UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Women's World Cup qualifying group stage guide

European qualifying for the 2023 finals begins on 16 September with a record 51 contenders.

The groups in full
The groups in full UEFA via Getty Images

The European qualifying group stage for the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup begins on 16 September 2021 and runs until 6 September 2022.

The record 51 contenders are split into six groups of six teams, and three of five. They are competing for nine direct spots in the finals as well as the chance to play off for three other European berths, and another in the inter-confederation play-offs, which like the finals will take place in Australia and New Zealand.

All the matches

  • The winners of the nine qualifying groups will progress directly to the finals in Australia and New Zealand from 20 July to 20 August 2023.
  • The group runners-up take part in the UEFA play-offs in October 2022.
  • In the play-offs, the three best runners-up will be seeded directly to round 2 of the play-offs. The six remaining runners-up contest three single-leg play-offs in round 1.
  • The three winners from round 1 and the three teams seeded directly to round 2 will then compete in single-leg play-offs determined by a draw.
  • The two play-off winners with the highest ranking (based on results in the qualifying group stage and round 2 play-offs) will qualify for the finals.
  • The remaining play-off winner will compete in the inter-confederation play-offs fron 17 to 23 February 2023 in Australia and New Zealand.

Qualifying groups

Group A: Sweden, Finland, Republic of Ireland, Slovakia, Georgia

Group B: Spain, Scotland, Ukraine, Hungary, Faroe Islands

Group C: Netherlands, Iceland, Czech Republic, Belarus, Cyprus

Group D: England, Austria, Northern Ireland, North Macedonia, Latvia, Luxembourg

Group E: Denmark, Russia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Azerbaijan, Malta, Montenegro

Group F: Norway, Belgium, Poland, Albania, Kosovo, Armenia

Group G: Italy, Switzerland, Romania, Croatia, Moldova, Lithuania

Group H: Germany, Portugal, Serbia, Israel, Turkey, Bulgaria

Group I: France, Wales, Slovenia, Greece, Kazakhstan, Estonia

  • Germany are aiming to follow their wins in 2003 and 2007.
  • Norway were the other European world champions in 1995.
  • Netherlands were runners-up in 2019.
  • Cyprus are making their Women's World Cup debut.
  • Luxembourg take part in a full qualifying group stage for the first time.
  • Taking part in UEFA Women's EURO 2022 from 6 to 31 July: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, England (hosts), Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Netherlands (holders), Northern Ireland, Norway, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland.


Qualifying group stage
16–21 September 2021
21–26 October 2021
25–30 November 2021
23 February 2022
7–12 April 2022
23–28 June 2022
1–6 September 2022

UEFA play-offs
3–11 October 2022

Finals: Continental allocation

Hosts: 2 (Australia, New Zealand)
AFC: 5
CAF: 4
UEFA: 11
Inter-confederation play-offs: 3

Inter-confederation play-offs

A ten-team tournament will be held in Australia and New Zealand from 17 to 23 February 2023 to decide the last three finalists.

Continental allocation
AFC: 2
CAF: 2
OFC: 1

The teams will be split into three groups, two of three teams and one of four, with seeding decided by FIFA ranking. All three groups will be played as separate knockout competitions with the winner of each qualifying for the finals. In the two three-team groups, the seeded team will go straight to the final (after playing a friendly against Australia or New Zealand) and meet the winner of a semi-final between the other two nations.