UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Spain win 2023 Women's World Cup: All the results

Spain are the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup winners after Olga Carmona's first-half strike made the difference in a 1-0 final defeat of European champions England.

Spain celebrate their World Cup final victory
Spain celebrate their World Cup final victory Getty Images

Spain have won the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup in Australia and New Zealand after defeating England 1-0 in the final at Stadium Australia in Sydney.

Jorge Vilda's side finished second best to European champions England at the quarter-final stage of UEFA Women's EURO 2022, but it was a different story this time around as Olga Carmona hit the winning goal on 29 minutes.

Jennifer Hermoso later had a penalty saved by England goalkeeper Mary Earps, but it did not matter as Spain held on to clinch their first senior women's title – and become Europe's third world champions after Norway (1995) and Germany (2003, 2007).

The finalists were two of 12 European sides to take part in the first finals since the expansion from 24 to 32 teams. The tournament kicked off on 20 July and the group stage ended on 3 August, with the top two in each section progressing to the round of 16, which began two days later.

Knockout fixtures


Sunday 20 August
 Spain 1-0 England (Sydney, Stadium Australia)

Third-place play-off

Saturday 19 August
Sweden 2-0 Australia (Brisbane)


Tuesday 15 August
Spain 2-1 Sweden (Auckland)

Wednesday 16 August
Australia 1-3 England (Sydney, Stadium Australia)


Friday 11 August
Spain 2-1 Netherlands (aet, Wellington)
Japan 1-2 Sweden (Auckland)

Saturday 12 August
Australia 0-0 France (aet, Australia win 7-6 on pens) (Brisbane)
England 2-1 Colombia (Sydney, Stadium Australia)

Round of 16

Saturday 5 August
Switzerland 1-5 Spain (Auckland)
Japan 3-1 Norway (Wellington)

Sunday 6 August
Netherlands 2-0 South Africa (Sydney, Football Stadium)
Sweden 0-0 United States (aet, Sweden win 5-4 on pens) (Melbourne)

Monday 7 August
England 0-0 Nigeria (aet, England win 4-2 on pens) (Brisbane)
Australia 2-0 Denmark (Sydney, Stadium Australia)

Tuesday 8 August
Colombia 1-0 Jamaica (Melbourne)
France 4-0 Morocco (Adelaide)

Women's World Cup groups

Group A: New Zealand (hosts), Norway, Philippines, Switzerland
Group B: Australia (hosts), Republic of Ireland, Nigeria, Canada
Group C: Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, Japan
Group D: England, Haiti, Denmark, China PR
Group E: United States (holders), Vietnam, Netherlands, Portugal
Group F: France, Jamaica, Brazil, Panama
Group G: Sweden, South Africa, Italy, Argentina
Group H: Germany, Morocco, Colombia, South Korea

UEFA nations in bold

Group stage results

Thursday 20 July
Group A: New Zealand 1-0 Norway (Auckland)
Group B: Australia 1-0 Republic of Ireland (Sydney)

Friday 21 July
Group B: Nigeria 0-0 Canada (Melbourne)
Group A: Philippines 0-2 Switzerland (Dunedin)
Group C: Spain 3-0 Costa Rica (Wellington)

Women's EURO 2022: Story of the tournament

Saturday 22 July
Group E: United States 3-0 Vietnam (Auckland)
Group C: Zambia 0-5 Japan (Hamilton)
Group D: England 1-0 Haiti (Brisbane)
Group D: Denmark 1-0 China PR (Perth)

Sunday 23 July
Group G: Sweden 2-1 South Africa (Wellington)
Group E: Netherlands 1-0 Portugal (Dunedin)
Group F: France 0-0 Jamaica (Sydney, Football Stadium)

Europe's contenders

Monday 24 July
Group G: Italy 1-0 Argentina (Auckland)
Group H: Germany 6-0 Morocco (Melbourne)
Group F: Brazil 4-0 Panama (Adelaide)

Tuesday 25 July
Group H: Colombia 2-0 South Korea (Sydney)
Group A: New Zealand 0-1 Philippines (Wellington)
Group A: Switzerland 0-0 Norway (Hamilton)

Wednesday 26 July
Group C: Japan 2-0 Costa Rica (Dunedin)
Group C: Spain 5-0 Zambia (Wellington)
Group B: Canada 2-1 Republic of Ireland (Perth)

Thursday 27 July
Group E: United States 1-1 Netherlands (Wellington)
Group E: Portugal 2-0 Vietnam (Hamilton)
Group B: Australia 2-3 Nigeria (Brisbane)

Women's EURO 2022: Watch every goal

Friday 28 July
Group G: Argentina 2-2 South Africa (Dunedin)
Group D: England 1-0 Denmark (Sydney)
Group D: China PR 1-0 Haiti (Adelaide)

Saturday 29 July
Group G: Sweden 5-0 Italy (Wellington)
Group F: France 2-1 Brazil (Brisbane)
Group F: Panama 0-1 Jamaica (Perth)

Sunday 30 July
Group H: South Korea 0-1 Morocco (Adelaide)
Group A: Switzerland 0-0 New Zealand (Dunedin)
Group A: Norway 6-0 Philippines (Auckland)
Group H: Germany 1-2 Colombia (Sydney, Football Stadium)

Monday 31 July
Group C: Japan 4-0 Spain (Wellington)
Group C: Costa Rica 1-3 Zambia (Hamilton)
Group B: Canada 0-4 Australia (Melbourne)
Group B: Republic of Ireland 0-0 Nigeria (Brisbane)

Tuesday 1 August
Group E: Portugal 0-0 United States (Auckland)
Group E: Vietnam 0-7 Netherlands (Dunedin)
Group D: China PR 1-6 England (Adelaide)
Group D: Haiti 0-2 Denmark (Perth)

Wednesday 2 August
Group G: Argentina 0-2 Sweden (Hamilton)
Group G: South Africa 3-2 Italy (Wellington)
Group F: Panama 3-6 France (Sydney)
Group F: Jamaica 0-0 Brazil (Melbourne)

Thursday 3 August
Group H: South Korea 1-1 Germany (Brisbane)
Group H: Morocco 1-0 Colombia (Perth)

Women's EURO 2022 final highlights: England 2-1 Germany


Adelaide (Hindmarsh Stadium)
Brisbane (Brisbane Stadium)
Melbourne (Melbourne Rectangular Stadium)
Perth (Perth Rectangular Stadium)
Sydney (Sydney Football Stadium/Stadium Australia)

New Zealand
Auckland (Eden Park)
Dunedin (Dunedin Stadium)
Hamilton (Waikato Stadium)
Wellington (Wellington Regional Stadium)

World Cup finals (European teams in bold)

2023: Spain 1-0 England: Sydney, Australia
2019: United States 2-0 Netherlands; Lyon, France
2015: United States 5-2 Japan; Vancouver, Canada
2011: Japan 2-2 United States (aet, 3-1 pens); Frankfurt, Germany
2007: Germany 2-0 Brazil; Shanghai, China
2003: Germany 1-0 Sweden (aet, golden goal); Carson, United States
1999: United States 0-0 China (aet, 5-4 pens); Pasadena, United States
1995: Norway 2-0 Germany; Stockholm, Sweden
1991: United States 2-1 Norway; Guangzhou, China

Olympic medallists (European teams in bold)

2021: Canada (gold), Sweden (silver), United States (bronze); Yokohama, Japan (postponed from 2020, final moved from Tokyo)
2016: Germany (gold), Sweden (silver), Canada (bronze); Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
2012: United States (gold), Japan (silver), Canada (bronze); London, United Kingdom
2008: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze); Beijing, China
2004: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze); Athens, Greece
2000: Norway (gold), United States (silver), Germany (bronze); Sydney, Australia
1996: United States (gold), China (silver), Norway (bronze); Atlanta, United States