The official website for European football

FIFA Women's World Cup draw and schedule

Published: Saturday 8 December 2018, 19.36CET
June's group stage will include matches like France v Norway, Germany v Spain, England v Scotland and Sweden v United States: see the schedule.
FIFA Women's World Cup draw and schedule
©Getty Images
Published: Saturday 8 December 2018, 19.36CET

FIFA Women's World Cup draw and schedule

June's group stage will include matches like France v Norway, Germany v Spain, England v Scotland and Sweden v United States: see the schedule.

FIFA Women's World Cup hosts France will open the finals against South Korea in Paris on 7 June.

Other group games include Germany v Spain, Italy v Brazil, England v Scotland, Netherlands v Canada and United States v Sweden, who are meeting at this stage for the fifth World Cup running.


Group A: France (hosts), South Korea, Norway, Nigeria
Group B: Germany, China, Spain, South Africa
Group C: Australia, Italy, Brazil, Jamaica
Group D: England, Scotland, Argentina, Japan
Group E: Canada, Cameroon, New Zealand, Netherlands
Group F: United States (holders), Thailand, Chile, Sweden


Women's EURO 2017: England 6-0 Scotland

  • Hosts France will open the finals on 7 June at Parc des Princes against South Korea.
  • Germany coach Martina Voss-Tecklenburg played against China in the nations' only previous competitive meeting at the 1995 World Cup semi-finals in Helsingborg, Sweden. Germany won 1-0.
  • Italy also faced Brazil at their most recent World Cup appearance in 1999, the Azzurre losing 2-0 in Chicago.
  • Scotland will make their World Cup finals debut against England; in 2017 they lost their UEFA Women's EURO and major tournament bow 6-0 to their neighbours in Utrecht. Scotland's fellow debutants in France will be South Africa, Jamaica and Chile.
  • England drew with Japan and beat Argentina in their group at the 2007 World Cup.
  • European champions the Netherlands beat New Zealand 1-0 on their World Cup debut in 2015 and also drew 1-1 with then hosts Canada, who went through along with the Dutch and China from that group.
  • The US are familiar opponents for Sweden in major tournaments. Sweden beat the US on penalties in the 2016 Olympic quarter-finals, while they draw 0-0 in the 2015 World Cup group stage, four years after a 2-1 win for the European side in the same round. However, the US beat Sweden in the 2007, 2003 and 1991 World Cup group stages as well as at the 1996 Olympics.


Friday 7 June
Group A: France v South Korea (21:00, Paris)

Saturday 8 June
Group A: Norway v Nigeria (15:00, Reims)
Group B: Spain v South Africa (18:00, Le Havre)
Group B: Germany v China (21:00, Rennes)

Sunday 9 June
Group C: Australia v Italy (13:00, Valenciennes)
Group C: Brazil v Jamaica (15:30, Grenoble)
Group D: England v Scotland (18:00, Nice)

Monday 10 June
Group D: Argentina v Japan (18:00, Paris)
Group E: Canada v Cameroon (21:00, Montpellier)

Tuesday 11 June
Group E: New Zealand v Netherlands (15:00, Le Havre)
Group F: Chile v Sweden (18:00, Rennes)
Group F: United States v Thailand (21:00, Reims)

Wednesday 12 June
Group A: Nigeria v South Korea (15:00, Grenoble)
Group B: Germany v Spain (18:00, Valenciennes)
Group A: France v Norway (21:00, Nice)

Thursday 13 June
Group C: Australia v Brazil (18:00, Montpellier)
Group B: South Africa v China (21:00, Paris)

Friday 14 June
Group D: Japan v Scotland (15:00, Rennes)
Group D: England v Argentina (18:00, Le Havre)
Group C: Jamaica v Italy (21:00, Reims)

Saturday 15 June
Group E: Netherlands v Cameroon (18:00, Valenciennes)
Group E: Canada v New Zealand (21:00, Grenoble)

Sunday 16 June
Group F: United States v Chile (15:00, Paris)
Group F: Sweden v Thailand (18:00, Nice)

Monday 17 June
Group B: China v Spain (18:00, Le Havre)
Group B: South Africa v Germany (18:00, Montpellier)
Group A: Nigeria v France (21:00, Rennes)
Group A: South Korea v Norway (21:00, Reims)

Tuesday 18 June
Group C: Jamaica v Australia (21:00, Grenoble)
Group C: Italy v Brazil (21:00, Valenciennes)

Wednesday 19 June
Group D: Japan v England (21:00, Nice)
Group D: Scotland v Argentina (21:00, Paris)

Thursday 20 June
Group E: Cameroon v New Zealand (18:00, Montpellier)
Group E: Netherlands v Canada (18:00, Reims)
Group F: Sweden v United States (21:00, Le Havre)
Group F: Thailand v Chile (21:00, Rennes)

Round of 16:
Saturday 22 June
38: 1B v 3A/C/D (15:00, Grenoble)
37: A2 v C2 (18:30, Nice)
Sunday 23 June
39: 1D v 3B/E/F (17:30, Valenciennes)
40: 1A v 3C/D/E (21:00, Le Havre)
Monday 24 June
41: 2B v 2F (18:00, Reims)
42: 1F v 2E (21:00, Paris)
Tuesday 25 June
43: 1C v 3A/B/F (18:00, Montpellier)
44: 1E v 2D (21:00, Rennes)

Thursday 27 June
45: W37 v W39 (21:00, Le Havre)
Friday 28 June
46: W40 v W41 (21:00, Paris)
Saturday 29 June
47: W43 v W44 (15:00, Valenciennes)
48: W38 v W42 (18:30, Rennes)

Tuesday 2 July
49: W45 v W46 (21:00, Lyon)
Wednesday 3 July
50: W47 v W48 (21:00, Lyon)

Third-place play-off:
Saturday 6 July (17:00, Nice)

Sunday 7 July (17:00, Lyon)

All times CET

Past World Cup finals (European teams in bold)
2015: United States 5-2 Japan; Vancouver, Canada
2011: Japan 2-2 United States (aet, 3-1 pens); Frankfurt, Germany
2007: Germany 2-0 Brazil; Shanghai, China
2003: Germany 1-0 Sweden (aet, golden goal); Carson, United States
1999: United States 0-0 China (aet, 5-4 pens); Pasadena, United States
1995: Norway 2-0 Germany; Stockholm, Sweden
1991: United States 2-1 Norway; Guangzhou, China

Past Olympic medallists (European teams in bold)
2016: Germany (gold), Sweden (silver), Canada (bronze); Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
2012: United States (gold), Japan (silver), Canada (bronze); London, United Kingdom
2008: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze); Beijing, China
2004: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze); Athens, Greece
2000: Norway (gold), United States (silver), Germany (bronze); Sydney, Australia
1996: United States (gold), China (silver), Norway (bronze); Atlanta, United States

Last updated: 08/12/18 21.11CET