UEFA EURO 2020 play-offs: who plays who?

The play-offs will determine the final four places at UEFA EURO 2020; here's how they will be decided.

Iceland have a place in Path A
UEFA via Getty Images

The fixtures for the UEFA EURO 2020 play-offs were determined by a series of draws in Nyon on 22 November 2019.

The winning team from each path will qualify for the final tournament, along with the 20 sides who booked their places via the European Qualifiers.

Path A
Semi-final 1 (1 v 4): Iceland v Romania
Semi-final 2 (2 v 3): Bulgaria v Hungary

The winners of semi-final 2 (Bulgaria or Hungary) will play the final at home.

Path B
Semi-final 1 (1 v 4): Bosnia and Herzegovina v Northern Ireland
Semi-final 2 (2 v 3): Slovakia v Republic of Ireland

The winners of semi-final 1 (Bosnia and Herzegovina or Northern Ireland) will play the final at home.

Path C
Semi-final 1 (1 v 4): Scotland v Israel
Semi-final 2 (2 v 3): Norway v Serbia

The winners of semi-final 2 (Norway or Serbia) will play the final at home.

Path D
Semi-final 1 (1 v 4): Georgia v Belarus
Semi-final 2 (2 v 3): North Macedonia v Kosovo

The winners of semi-final 1 (Georgia or Belarus) will play the final at home.

The procedure

The 16 UEFA Nations League group winners were all guaranteed at least a UEFA EURO 2020 play-off place, with each League forming its own play-off path. However, the exact composition depended on how the teams performed during the European Qualifiers.

The final pot allocation for the UEFA EURO 2020 final tournament draw, involving the four potential play-off winners, was published on UEFA.com on Wednesday 20 November.

On the basis of the final European Qualifiers standings, the following teams are involved in the play-offs

How the play-offs work

All 55 member associations – including those 16 UEFA Nations League group winners – had the chance to qualify directly for UEFA EURO 2020, with the top two in each European Qualifiers group advancing directly to the tournament.

That leaves four EURO places to be determined via the play-offs. In theory, the four group winners would contest each League's own play-offs.

UEFA Nations League group winners

League A: England, Netherlands, Portugal, Switzerland
League B: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Denmark, Sweden, Ukraine
League C: Finland, Norway, Scotland, Serbia
League D: Belarus, North Macedonia, Georgia, Kosovo

How the play-offs work
How the play-offs work

However, these play-offs do not take place until March 2020 – AFTER the conclusion of the conventional European Qualifiers. The EURO play-off berths of any UEFA Nations League group winners who qualify via the European Qualifiers went to the next best-ranked team in their League.

Note: teams are ranked 1 to 55 according to their position in a group, points gained, goal difference, goals scored etc.

If a League did not have four teams to compete (for example, 11 of the 12 League A teams qualified automatically), the remaining slots were allocated to sides from another League in accordance with the overall UEFA Nations League rankings.

However, group winners could be placed in a play-off group with teams from a higher League. Therefore, should a play-off group including at least one group winner not have enough teams from the same League, the remaining spot(s) had to be filled by teams from a lower League.

Key dates

30/11/2019: UEFA EURO 2020 final tournament draw
26/03/2020: European Qualifiers play-off semi-finals
31/03/2020: European Qualifiers play-off finals
12/06/2020: Opening game, Olimpico in Rome
12/07/2020: Final, Wembley Stadium (London)

How will the play-off ties be decided?

Unlike previous play-offs, these will be single-leg knockout matches, with the highest-ranked teams hosting each semi-final. The host for each path's play-off final was drawn in advance on 22 November 2019.

How do the Finals fit in?

The UEFA Nations League Finals, which took place in Portugal in June 2019, are a separate entity and do not double up as League A's play-off. Winners Portugal did not qualify automatically for UEFA EURO 2020.