UEFA.com works better on other browsers
As of 25 January, UEFA.com will no longer support Internet Explorer.
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Futsal World Cup play-offs: Serbia and Czech Republic qualify

Serbia edged out Finland and the Czech Republic beat Croatia on penalties to qualify through the play-offs.

The Czech Republic celebrate qualifying
The Czech Republic celebrate qualifying Michal Pavlík/FAČR
  • The FIFA Futsal World Cup play-offs decided Europe's last two finals spots in Lithuania.
  • The four contenders were elite round runners-up behind the winners Kazakhstan, Portugal, Russia and Spain, who have already joined the hosts in the finals from 12 September to 3 October 2021 (postponed from 2020).

Second legs

Wednesday 9 December:

Finland 5-5 Serbia (agg: 5-6)

  • Jovan Lazarević's hat-trick made the difference in a thrilling second leg, postponed from 10 November.
  • Serbia previously reached the World Cup in 2012.
  • This was the first time Finland have been in a play-off; they held Italy and Portugal in the elite round, knocking out the Azzurri.

Tuesday 10 November:

Czech Republic 2-2 Croatia (aet, agg: 4-4, Czech Republic win 6-5 on penalties)

  • The home side in Brno, who saw a two-goal first-leg lead slip, twice equalised to force extra time.
  • Both teams missed potential winning penalties before Jiří Vokoun converted the eighth Czech kick to clinch victory.
  • The Czech Republic previously made the World Cup in 2004, 2008 and 2016, and avenged their 7-6 loss to Croatia in a decisive 2000 qualifier

First legs

Friday 6 November:

Serbia beat Finland 1-0 in their first leg
Serbia beat Finland 1-0 in their first legGetty Images

Serbia 1-0 Finland

  • Marko Pršić struck to decide the first leg.

Saturday 7 November:

Croatia 2-2 Czech Republic

  • Croatia came back from 2-0 down to draw in Zadar, with the visitors having Lukáš Rešetár sent off.

All qualifiers so far

AFC: 5 tbc
CAF: Angola (debut), Egypt, Morocco
CONMEBOL: Argentina (holders), Brazil, Paraguay, Venezuela (debut)
OFC: Solomon Islands
UEFA: Czech Republic Kazakhstan, Lithuania (hosts, debut), Portugal, Russia, Serbia, Spain