UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Angerer, Schelin and Goessling shortlisted

Nadine Angerer, Lotta Schelin and Lena Goessling are in line for the inaugural UEFA Best Women's Player in Europe Award on 5 September after making the shortlist.

Angerer, Schelin and Goessling shortlisted
Angerer, Schelin and Goessling shortlisted ©UEFA.com

UEFA Women's EURO 2013 winners Nadine Angerer and Lena Goessling will take on the final tournament's top scorer Lotta Schelin in the vote for the inaugural UEFA Best Women's Player in Europe Award on 5 September.

Germany goalkeeper Angerer, who plays her club football with Australia's Brisbane Roar after leaving 1. FFC Frankfurt, was regarded as one of the stars of the tournament in Sweden, saving two penalties in the 1-0 final victory over Norway. Midfield team-mate Goessling, meanwhile, performed a pivotal role in the VfL Wolfsburg side that claimed a domestic double in Germany – and was player of the match as her team won the UEFA Women's Champions League in their first season in Europe. Olympique Lyonnais striker Schelin was a loser in the club final at Stamford Bridge, yet was the face of Women's EURO on home soil where her five goals for Sweden earned the 29-year-old the adidas Golden Boot.

The original shortlist of ten players for the women's accolade resulted from a poll of the coaches of the 12 UEFA Women's EURO 2013 sides, as well as those of the clubs that contested the 2012/13 UEFA Women's Champions League quarter-finals. Each coach provided a list of their top five players, with the first receiving five points, the second four points, the third three points, the fourth two points and the fifth one point.

That list of ten players was then passed to a panel of 18 journalists, each committed to supporting women's football and selected by the European Sports Media (ESM) group. They then voted for their top three players, giving the first five points, the second three points and third one point. In alphabetical order, the top three were: Angerer, Goessling and Schelin.

The final vote to decide the winner of the award will be made by the same panel of journalists. The vote and the ensuing prize presentation will take place during the 2013/14 UEFA Women's Champions League round of 32 and 16 draws, on 5 September at the House of European Football in Nyon, Switzerland.

UEFA also revealed a list of the players placed fourth to tenth in Europe as a consequence of the second round of voting by the aforementioned panel of journalists:

4 Nadine Kessler (GER, VfL Wolfsburg) – number of points, 16
5 Verónica Boquete (ESP, Tyresö FF) – 11
6 Caroline Seger (SWE, Tyresö FF) – 8
7 Nilla Fischer (SWE, Linköpings FC) – 6
8 Célia Okoyino da Mbabi (GER, 1. FFC Frankfurt) – 4
9 Wendie Renard (FRA, Olympique Lyonnais) – 3
10 Louisa Necib (FRA, Olympique Lyonnais) – 2