UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

History and procedure

The UEFA Best Player in Europe Award, given for the first time in 2011, was born of an initiative to revive the spirit of the old European Footballer of the Year prize.

Lionel Messi shows off his 2014/15 UEFA Best Player in Europe Award
Lionel Messi shows off his 2014/15 UEFA Best Player in Europe Award ©AFP

The UEFA Best Player in Europe Award was created in partnership with European Sports Media. It recognises the best player, irrespective of nationality, playing for a club within the territory of a UEFA member association during the past season.

Players are judged on their performances over the course of the previous campaign – in all competitions and at club and national team level – by a jury of renowned sports journalists representing each of the UEFA member national associations.

First round of voting
Every journalist involved provides a list of their five best-ranking players from one to five, with the first player receiving five points, the second four points and so on. The top ten are then shortlisted for another round of voting.

Second round of voting
UEFA.com reveals the three players who gained the most points from a second round of voting to procede to the final poll.

Final round of voting
The final vote will take place ahead of the UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Monaco on 25 August, when the winner will announced.

The UEFA Best Women's Player in Europe Award will also be presented during the UEFA Champions League group stage draw. The award procedure is the same except the jury consists of 20 journalists and the first round of votes are made by the coaches of the UEFA Women's Champions League quarter-finalists and those of the 12 top-ranked countries in Europe according to the national team coefficient ranking.

The UEFA Best Player in Europe Award replaced the UEFA Club Footballer of the Year prize, last claimed in 2010 by FC Internazionale Milano's Diego Milito. That accolade formed part of the UEFA Club Football Awards – which also included honours for best goalkeeper, defender, midfielder, forward and coach – and had been presented in Monaco each August since 1998.