UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

UEFA backs Cerebral Palsy finals

The CPISRA Seven-a-Side World Championship takes place in Rio de Janeiro next month.

The Cerebral Palsy International Sports and Recreation Association (CPISRA) – which received UEFA's annual CHF1m charity cheque in 2007 – has held the draw for the CPISRA Football Seven-a-Side World Championship to be held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, next month.

Draw result
The result of the draw is as follows:
Group 1: Iran, Netherlands, Spain, USA
Group 2: Brazil, Australia, England/Wales, South Africa
Group 3: Ukraine, Ireland, Canada, Japan
Group 4: Russia, Argentina, China, Scotland

Own version
Founded in 1978, CPISRA is an international governing sports body for athletes with cerebral palsy or traumatic brain injury, stroke and related conditions. CPISRA has its own version of football, a modified seven-a-side game that has been played by athletes with cerebral palsy for many years. The organisation says that modifications to FIFA rules make it an exciting sport, adding that some of the changes include a smaller pitch and goals. There is no offside and players can roll the ball into play instead of taking throw-ins.

All levels
Participants have the opportunity to play in local, regional, national and international tournaments. They play with athletes of similar abilities, learn team and individual football skills, have a chance to compete, learn strategy and improve their health. The pinnacle of the CPISRA Football Seven-A-Side competition calendar is the Paralympic Games, which take place every four years. CPISRA is using the UEFA cheque to develop CP seven-a-side football in Europe.

Click here for the CPISRA website.