UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

1987: Norway victorious in Oslo

Following the success of the inaugural tournament, anticipation was high for the second edition in 1987.

1987: Norway victorious in Oslo
1987: Norway victorious in Oslo ©UEFA.com

Following the success of the inaugural European Competition for Women's Football, anticipation was high for the second edition, with the four group winners gathering for a new one-venue final round.

Group 1 saw Scandinavian rivals Norway, Denmark and Finland square up with the West Germany, winners of an unofficial world championship in 1984. Norway had been the weakest nation in the prestigious Nordic Championship which ran from 1974-1982, but they topped this section unbeaten, defeating Finland 2-0 as Denmark lost 2-0 in West Germany on the final day.

Like in the previous edition, Group 2 was an all-British affair, and again England cruised through; a 10-0 victory against Northern Ireland underlining their dominance. Holders Sweden won Group 3 despite a 2-0 defeat in the Netherlands, while unbeaten Italy put their seal on Group 4.

Norway was selected as the venue for the finals in March, and the hosts progressed beyond the last four by overcoming Italy 2-0 in Oslo, while Sweden needed extra time to oust England 3-2 in Moss in a repeat of the 1984 decider. Two days later Italy beat England 2-1 in Drammen to pick up the bronze medal, but interest soon switched to Oslo where Norway were looking to take the title off Sweden.

The hosts had not won a major international tournament – for men or women – since the Norwegian Football Association was formed in 1902, but two Trude Stendal goals gave the home team a 2-1 success. Just to prove it was no fluke, they saw off Sweden 1-0 the following year in China to triumph in a FIFA invitational tournament – the forerunner to the FIFA Women's World Cup – and Norway have remained a global force ever since.

Selected for you