UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Diouf wins Africa award again


Liverpool FC forward El Hadji Diouf has been named African Footballer of the Year.

Liverpool FC and Senegal forward El Hadji Diouf has been named African Footballer of the Year for the second time in a row.

Top three
The 22-year-old was honoured at the Confederation of African Football ceremony in Johannesburg on Tuesday night and dedicated his success to his international colleagues. He was one of three players shortlisted, beating Senegal team-mate Pape Bouba Diop, who finished second, and Egypt striker Ahmed Hossam, 'Mido', to the ultimate prize.

Great year
Diouf is the first player to win the award in consecutive years since George Weah managed the feat in 1994 and 1995. The success completes a memorable 12 months for the talented player. His transfer to Liverpool from French club Lens, for a fee believed to be in the region of €15m, was announced a day after he helped Senegal to a 1-0 victory against France in the opening game of the 2002 FIFA World Cup finals last summer.

Success with Liverpool
Prior to the achievement of reaching the World Cup quarter-finals, Diouf helped Senegal to the final of the African Cup of Nations. He became an instant regular after his move to Liverpool, representing them in the UEFA Champions League and then UEFA Cup.

Metsu recognised 
Senegal took most of the honours at the ceremony. The national side were voted Team of the Year while former trainer Bruno Metsu, now with the United Arab Emirates, was named Coach of the Year.

2002 Confederation of African Football (CAF) awards:

Footballer of the YearEl Hadji Diouf
(Liverpool FC and Senegal)
Young Player of the YearAhmed Hossam
(AFC Ajax and Egypt)
Goalkeeper of the YearTony Sylva
Coach of the YearBruno Metsu
Club of the YearZamalek SC
Team of the YearSenegal
African Champions League
Best Player
Hicham Aboucherouane
(FC Raja de Casablanca)
Best (televised) goalPape Bouba Diop
(For Senegal v Uruguay)
Women's Footballer of the YearAlberta Sackey
Youth Development AwardGhana Football Association
Merit Achievement AwardMwade Wade

Selected for you