UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Upbeat Heiner-Møller confirms Denmark squad

Kenneth Heiner-Møller has named a virtually full-strength squad for his last tournament as Denmark coach and says they go into this Women's EURO "better prepared than ever".

Kenneth Heiner-Møller is happy with Denmark's preparations
Kenneth Heiner-Møller is happy with Denmark's preparations ©Sportsfile

Kenneth Heiner-Møller has named his squad for his last tournament as Denmark coach – and says they will go into UEFA Women's EURO 2013 "better prepared than ever before".

Heiner-Møller is stepping down following the finals next month after eight years in the role, and is hoping to make it past the group stage after falling at that hurdle in the 2007 FIFA Women's World Cup and UEFA Women's EURO 2009. But having been able to name a full-strength squad, save for experienced goalkeeper Heidi Johansen who is still recovering from a knee injury, Heiner-Møller is upbeat.

"This will be my third major tournament as national coach, and I feel that we are better prepared, physically in particular, than ever before," he said when unveiling his squad in Vejl to includ 203-time capped Katrine Pedersen, the most experienced current European international.

"That gives me as a coach, as well as the entire team, a strong belief that we can perform well at the European Championship. Our all-important goal is to be first or second in our group in order to be sure to reach the quarter-finals."

Denmark complete their preparations against Spain in Vejle next Friday and open their finals campaign against hosts Sweden in Gothenburg on 10 July, with Finland and Italy also in Group A.

Denmark squad
Goalkeepers: Stina Lykke Petersen (Brøndby IF), Cecilie Sørensen (B93/HIK/Skjold), Katrine Abel (Taastrup FC).

Defenders: Cecilie Sandvej (Brøndby IF), Christina Ørntoft (Brøndby IF), Janni Arnth Jensen (Fortuna Hjørring),Line Røddik Hansen (Tyresö FF), Malene Olsen (Brøndby IF), Mia Brogaard (Brøndby IF) ,Theresa Nielsen (Brøndby IF).

Midfielders: Johanna Rasmussen (Kristianstads DDF), Julie Rydahl Bukh (Brøndby IF), Karoline Smidt Nielsen (Fortuna Hjørring), Katrine Veje (FC Malmö), Katrine Pedersen (Stabæk FK), Line Jensen (Fortuna Hjørring), Mariann Gajhede Knudsen (Linköpings FC), Nanna Christiansen (Brøndby IF,) Sine Hovesen (Fortuna Hjørring), Sofie Junge Pedersen (Fortuna Hjørring).

Forwards: Pernille Harder (Linköpings FC), Nadia Nadim (Fortuna Hjørring), Sanne Troelsgaard Nielsen (Brøndby IF).