UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Inter lead 2009/10 prize money list


The 32 clubs competing in the UEFA Champions League last season received performance-related payments, as well as money from the TV market pool, amounting to €746m.

Inter lifted the UEFA Champions League Trophy in Madrid on 22 May
Inter lifted the UEFA Champions League Trophy in Madrid on 22 May ©Getty Images

A total of €746,400,000 was distributed to clubs participating in the UEFA Champions League last season, with winners FC Internazionale Milano receiving the largest amount of €48,759,000 after completing a triumphant campaign with victory in the final against FC Bayern München.

UEFA has confirmed how much the sides involved earned from their 2009/10 exploits, after money generated by the centralised marketing of European football's premier club competition was redistributed among the 32 teams.

Italian champions Internazionale, who defeated Bayern 2-0 in the Madrid final on 22 May, received almost €49m in payments from UEFA. This was made up of more than €29m for their performances from the UEFA Champions League group stage onwards and another €19.6m from the television market pool.

The performance-related payments for runners-up Bayern amounted to €25m and, with the addition of €19m from the TV market pool, the German club earned a total of €44,862,000.

The €746m in prize money allocated to the 32 clubs taking part from the group stage onwards consisted of €408,600,000 from commercial revenue plus €337,800,000 from the market pool. The commercial revenue comprised funds accrued from media rights and commercial contracts concluded by UEFA in relation to the 2009/10 UEFA Champions League and 2009 UEFA Super Cup.

All the clubs were entitled to receive a minimum of €7.1m in accordance with the distribution system, which awarded a basic participation bonus of €3.8m plus €3.3m from the six €550,000 match bonuses given per group game. Additionally, performance bonuses were paid in the group stage: €800,000 for every win and €400,000 for every draw.

From there, the 16 teams that reached the first knockout round earned an extra €3m, the eight quarter-finalists €3.3m, and the four semi-finalists – including FC Barcelona and Olympique Lyonnais – another €4m. Inter then received €9m as winners of the Santiago Bernabéu final and Bayern €5.2m as runners-up.

Monies from the market pool were distributed according to the proportional value of the national TV market each individual club represented, among other factors, so the amounts given varied from country (or national association) to country.