UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Full UEFA EURO 2016 referee teams named


UEFA's Referees' Committee has appointed the full teams of match officials for UEFA EURO 2016 in France, with a pre-tournament workshop in April next on the agenda.

The 18 UEFA EURO 2016 referees at UEFA's recent winter course in Cyprus
The 18 UEFA EURO 2016 referees at UEFA's recent winter course in Cyprus ©Sportsfile

UEFA has announced the full referee teams for this summer's UEFA EURO 2016 tournament in France.

Following December's unveiling of the 18 main referees to take charge of the 51 matches at the tournament between 10 June and 10 July, the UEFA Referees' Committee has decided on the assistant referees, additional assistant referees and third (reserve) assistant referees to complete the 18 teams.

Each referee team comprises six match officials: one main referee, two additional assistant referees, and two assistant referees. The majority of assistants and additional assistants come from the same country as the referee. A third assistant referee has also been named as a reserve for each team, and will remain on standby until the start of the tournament to take the place of a colleague if necessary.

The Referees' Committee has also chosen two referees and two assistant referees to serve only as fourth officials and reserve assistant referees.

The latest appointments mean that 112 match officials in total will attend a UEFA EURO 2016 preparatory workshop from 18 to 21 April at the referees’ base camp for the tournament - Hôtel du Lac, 89 rue du Général de Gaulle, 95880 Enghien-Les-Bains, on the outskirts of Paris.

The referee teams will train together, undertake fitness tests and review the application of technical instructions for the final tournament. Training in April and at UEFA EURO 2016 will take place at the Parc des Sports Nelson Mandela, Chemin de la Butte-aux-Pères, 95160 Montmorency.

Subsequently, 94 match officials will return to France on 6 June for the tournament itself.

The referee teams in full

Selected for you