UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

UEFA Women's Coach of the Year nominees: Sonia Bompastor, Martina Voss-Tecklenburg, Sarina Wiegman


Sonia Bompastor, Martina Voss-Tecklenburg and Sarina Wiegman are nominated for the UEFA Women's Coach of the Year award.

Sonia Bompastor, Martina Voss-Tecklenburg and Sarina Wiegman
Sonia Bompastor, Martina Voss-Tecklenburg and Sarina Wiegman UEFA

Lyon's Sonia Bompastor, Germany's Martina Voss-Tecklenburg and England's Sarina Wiegman are the top three nominees for the 2021/22 UEFA Women's Coach of the Year award.

The winner will be named – along with the UEFA Men's and Women's Players of the Year, and UEFA Men's Coach of the Year – during the 2022/23 UEFA Champions League draw ceremony in Istanbul on Thursday 25 August.

UEFA Women's Coach of the Year nominees

Sonia Bompastor
Sonia BompastorUEFA via Getty Images

Sonia Bompastor (Lyon)
Having been academy director since her 2013 retirement from a stellar playing career, Bompastor was promoted to head coach in April 2021, not long after Lyon's five-year reign as UEFA Women's Champions League holders was ended by Paris Saint-Germain, who were about to deprive OL of the French title for the first time since she joined the club as a midfielder in 2006.

By the end of Bompastor's first full season they had both trophies back, eclipsing Paris in both the league and UEFA semi-finals and defeating holders and favourites Barcelona in the Turin decider.

Martina Voss-Tecklenburg
Martina Voss-TecklenburgThomas Boecker/DFB/Pool via Gett

Martina Voss-Tecklenburg (Germany)
Having begun her coaching career leading Duisburg to 2008/09 UEFA Women's Cup glory and later guided Switzerland to their first major tournaments in 2015 and 2017, Voss-Tecklenburg took over her native Germany in 2019.

A four-time Women's EURO winner as a player, she came within an ace of leading them to victory as a coach in England in July. They topped a group with Denmark, Spain and Finland before knocking out Austria and France, only to fall 2-1 in extra time to England at Wembley. However, in the course of their run Germany showed they were once again a major force in the continent.

Sarina Wiegman
Sarina WiegmanUEFA via Getty Images

Sarina Wiegman (England)
Wiegman, who led her native Netherlands to home victory at UEFA Women's EURO 2017, left that role to take over England a year ago. In an incredible unbeaten season, in which the Lionesses scored more than 100 goals, Wiegman again led Women's EURO hosts to success, earning England their first major trophy at Wembley in July.

On the way England scored a tournament-record 22 goals, conceded only twice, winning all their games with an exciting style of football that was watched by record crowds with Wiegman able to name the same XI to begin every game. They are also on the verge of qualifying for the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup, in which Wiegman's side will be one of the favourites to go one better than her Netherlands runners-up in 2019.

The rest of the top five

4 Jonatan Giráldez (Barcelona) – 27 points
5 Tommy Stroot (Wolfsburg) – 22 points

What is the UEFA Women's Coach of the Year award?

For this award, coaches in Europe, irrespective of nationality, were judged on their performances across the whole season in all competitions – both domestically and internationally – at either club or national team level. Lyon's Jean-Luc Vasseur was the inaugural winner in 2019/20, followed by Barcelona's Lluís Cortés in 2020/21.

How were the coaches shortlisted?

An initial shortlist of five coaches was selected by UEFA's technical study group.

The top three nominees were voted for by a jury comprising the following:

• The coaches of the 16 clubs that participated in the group stage of the 2021/22 UEFA Women's Champions League
• The coaches of the 16 nations that played at UEFA Women's EURO 2022
• A group of journalists selected by the European Sports Media (ESM)

Jury members chose their top three coaches, with the first receiving five points, the second three and the third one. Coaches were not allowed to vote for themselves.

Selected for you