UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Spain send for Willy against Scotland

RCD Espanyol midfielder Willy, hero of Spain's 2-2 draw with Germany last year, is recalled to Ignacio Quereda's squad for the play-off against Scotland but María Paz misses out.

Willy equalises against Germany
Willy equalises against Germany ©Getty Images

Spain coach Ignacio Quereda said he was determined to "take this team to where they deserve to be" after naming his squad for the UEFA Women's EURO 2013 play-off with Scotland.

RCD Espanyol midfielder Willy, who struck an added-time equaliser against Germany last November – the first qualifying points that the northern nation had dropped since 1999 – has returned to the set-up after recovering from surgery to repair a damaged cruciate knee ligament. Her club-mate María Paz, scorer of ten goals in qualifying, sustained a thigh injury earlier this month and has been overlooked for the games in Glasgow on 20 October and at Las Rozas four days later. Quereda also described opponents Scotland as "physically strong" and deserving of "special attention when they attack".

The 1997 semi-finalists Spain have not qualified since, being beaten in the 2009 play-offs by the Netherlands when, as now, Spain were the seeded team. Spain looked like they might gain automatic qualification when they held Germany 2-2 at home but a 5-0 defeat in the return match in March – as well as a 4-3 reverse in Switzerland – cost them the chance of finishing as best runners-up. "Our girls are eager to get this tie under way. We're convinced we can get through," Quereda said.

Spain squad
Goalkeepers: Ainhoa Tirapu (Athletic Club), María José Pons (RCD Espanyol).

Defenders: Leire Landa (Athletic Club), Melisa (FC Barcelona), Marta Torrejón (RCD Espanyol), Ruth García (Levante UD), Sandra (RCD Espanyol).

Midfielders: Elisabeth Ibarra (Athletic Club), Miriam Diéguez (FC Barcelona), Silvia Meseguer (RCD Espanyol), Willy (RCD Espanyol), Jennifer Hermoso (Rayo Vallecano de Madrid), Sonia Bermúdez (FC Barcelona).

Forwards: Erika Vázquez (Athletic Club), Nagore Calderón (Club Atlético de Madrid), Adriana Martín (Chelsea LFC), Debora García (RCD Espanyol), Verónica Boquete (Tyresö FF).