UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Ronaldo and Suárez share Golden Shoe accolade

The ESM Golden Shoe will be shared for only the second time after Real Madrid CF's Cristiano Ronaldo and Liverpool FC forward Luis Suárez ended their respective seasons with 31 goals.

Liverpool's Luis Suárez enjoyed the second most prolific season of his career in 2013/14
Liverpool's Luis Suárez enjoyed the second most prolific season of his career in 2013/14 ©Getty Images

Cristiano Ronaldo and Luis Suárez have shared the ESM Golden Shoe for the 2013/14 season after finishing their respective campaigns with 31 goals.

While Liverpool FC striker Suárez − whose haul so nearly ended the Reds' 24-year wait for their 19th English league title − receives the award for the first time, Ronaldo joins last term's recipient Lionel Messi as a three-time winner.

It is only the second occasion the accolade has been shared, Thierry Henry (Arsenal FC) and Diego Forlán (Villarreal CF) having finished level atop the standings in 2004/05. The top five is completed by Messi, Diego Costa − the 27-goal inspiration behind Club Atlético Madrid's Liga title success − and FC Salzburg's Jonatan Soriano.

The only non-forward in the top ten is Yaya Touré, who in scoring 20 goals for Manchester City FC became only the second midfielder in Premier League history to achieve the feat, after Frank Lampard in 2009/10.

Final ESM Golden Shoe standings
1 = Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid CF) 31 x 2 = 62
Luis Suárez (Liverpool FC) 31 x 2 = 62
3 = Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona) 28 x 2 = 56
4 = Diego Costa (Club Atlético Madrid) 27 x 2 = 54
5 = Jonatan Soriano (FC Salzburg) 31 x 1,5 = 46,5
6 = Ciro Immobile (Torino FC) 22 x 2 = 44
7 = Alfred Finnbogason (sc Heerenveen) 29 x 1,5 = 43,5
8 = Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool FC) 21 x 2 = 42
9 = Robert Lewandowksi (Borussia Dortmund) 20 x 2 = 40
Jackson Martinez (FC Porto) 20 x 2 = 40
Luca Toni (Hellas Verona FC) 20 x 2 = 40
Yaya Touré (Manchester City FC) 20 x 2 = 40

Only the leading five countries – Spain, Italy, Germany, England and Portugal – in the UEFA rankings have two as their multiplier. This is to emphasise the difference in (international) performance level between clubs from those countries and those of other nations.

A player cannot play first in a summer league (e.g. Norway) and then in a winter league (e.g. Spain) and combine the points totals for each season.