UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Record-breaking Bayern win Bundesliga title

FC Bayern München have secured the title earlier than any team in Bundesliga history after a 1-0 success at Eintracht Frankfurt, rendering Borussia Dortmund's comeback win redundant.

Bastian Schweinsteiger celebrates with Philipp Lahm (left) and Arjen Robben
Bastian Schweinsteiger celebrates with Philipp Lahm (left) and Arjen Robben ©Getty Images

FC Bayern München have been crowned Bundesliga champions after a 1-0 victory at Eintracht Frankfurt, despite Borussia Dortmund coming from behind to beat FC Augsburg.

Their 23rd title arrives after just 28 matches – a league record which breaks Bayern's previous fastest championship win of 30 games set in 1973 and 2003.

David Alaba missed a 27th-minute penalty and Xherdan Shaqiri struck a post as the contest reached half-time goalless, but normal service was resumed shortly after the interval as Bastian Schweinsteiger neatly back heeled in Philipp Lahm's cross.

It was to be the only goal and meant Jupp Heynckes' side also bettered another league best – with 40 away points on the board, they have usurped Dortmund's tally of 37 from last season.

Lahm said: "We are happy to have finally secured the championship, as we have been talking about it for quite some time. We came here today and wanted to win the game."

The defending champions' efforts in defeating Augsburg 4-2, thanks in no small part to a Julian Schieber double, ultimately counted for nothing. Lowly Augsburg had scored two goals inside two minutes on the cusp of half-time. Neven Subotić added a third for the hosts before Robert Lewandowski struck for the tenth consecutive league fixture.