UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Champions League group stage draw pots confirmed

The four seeding pots have been confirmed for the group stage draw, streamed at 17:00 CET.

The draw will take place in Geneva, Switzerland
The draw will take place in Geneva, Switzerland UEFA via Getty Images

Ahead of Thursday's UEFA Champions League group stage draw, streamed live on UEFA.com from 17:00 CET, the 32 teams have been split into four seeding pots.

Follow the draw live

Pot 1 consists of the holders, the UEFA Europa League winners and the champions of the six highest-ranked nations who did not qualify via one of the 2019/20 UEFA titles. Pots 2 to 4 are determined by the club coefficient rankings.

Pot 1

Bayern (GER), UEFA Champions League holders
Sevilla (ESP), UEFA Europa League holders
Real Madrid (ESP)
Liverpool (ENG)
Juventus (ITA)
Paris (FRA)
Zenit (RUS)
Porto (POR)

Pot 2

Barcelona (ESP) coefficient 128.000
Atlético Madrid (ESP) 127.000
Manchester City (ENG) 116.000
Manchester United (ENG) 100.000
Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR) 85.000
Dortmund (GER) 85.000
Chelsea (ENG) 83.000
Ajax (NED) 69.500

Pot 3

Dynamo Kyiv (UKR) 55.000
Salzburg (AUT) 53.500
RB Leipzig (GER) 49.000
Internazionale (ITA) 44.000
Olympiacos (GRE) 43.000
Lazio (ITA) 41.000
Krasnodar (RUS) 35.500
Atalanta (ITA) 33.500

Pot 4

Lokomotiv Moskva (RUS) 33.000
Marseille (FRA) 31.000
Club Brugge (BEL) 28.500
Mönchengladbach (GER) 26.000
İstanbul Başakşehir (TUR) 21.500
Midtjylland (DEN) 14.500
Rennes (FRA) 14.000
Ferencváros (HUN) 9.000

Draw procedure

  • The 26 teams given direct entry to the group stage under the competition system introduced in 2018/19 have been joined by the six winners of the play-off ties.
  • No team can play a club from their own association and, based on decisions taken by the UEFA Executive Committee, clubs from Russia and Ukraine must not be drawn in the same group.
  • In the case of associations with two or more representatives, clubs will be paired in order to split their matches between Tuesday and Wednesday.
  • If a paired club is drawn, for example, in Groups A, B, C or D, the other paired club – once drawn – will automatically be assigned to one of Groups E, F, G or H.

Which clubs are paired?

To ensure that paired clubs from the same country play on separate days where possible, the eight groups will be distinguished by colour: Groups A to D will be red and Groups E to H will be blue. When a paired club is drawn, for example, in one of the red groups (A, B, C or D), the other paired club – once it has been drawn – will automatically be assigned to one of the four blue groups (E, F, G or H). The pairings are as follows:

A Bayern & Dortmund
B Sevilla & Atlético de Madrid
C Real Madrid & Barcelona
D Liverpool & Man. United
E Juventus & Inter
F Paris & Marseille
G Zenit & Lokomotiv
H Man. City & Chelsea
I Shakhtar & Dynamo Kyiv
J RB Leipzig & Mönchengladbach
K Lazio & Atalanta

Group stage match dates

Matchday 1: 20/21 October
Matchday 2: 27/28 October
Matchday 3: 3/4 November
Matchday 4: 24/25 November
Matchday 5: 1/2 December
Matchday 6: 8/9 December