UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

British derby tops bill in Group G

John Terry has been reinstalled as England captain with his side looking to go top of Group G against Wales, with pool leaders Montengro out of action, while Bulgaria host Switzerland.

Reinstated England captain John Terry trains with the squad ahead of the game with Wales
Reinstated England captain John Terry trains with the squad ahead of the game with Wales ©Getty Images

With section leaders Montenegro not in action until June, England have the chance to reclaim the Group G lead against neighbours Wales. Meanwhile, Bulgaria welcome Switzerland with both sides accruing just three points each from as many outings.

26 March: Wales v England, Bulgaria v Switzerland

Latest standings

Winger Matt Jarvis has been called up after a string of impressive performances for Wolverhampton Wanderers FC. The 24-year-old had been named in two previous provisional squads but, with Arsenal FC's Theo Walcott still injured, he has made Fabio Capello's final cut for the first time. Everton FC defender Phil Jagielka is back, as is Liverpool FC striker Andy Carroll and Tottenham Hotspur FC pair Aaron Lennon and Peter Crouch. Following Rio Ferdinand's injury problems Chelsea FC defender John Terry has reclaimed the captaincy, while Steven Gerrard was ruled out for a month after groin surgery on 11 March.

Goalkeepers: Ben Foster (Birmingham City FC), Robert Green (West Ham United FC), Joe Hart (Manchester City FC), Scott Carson (West Bromwich Albion FC)*.

Defenders: Leighton Baines (Everton FC), Gary Cahill (Bolton Wanderers FC), Ashley Cole (Chelsea FC), Michael Dawson (Tottenham Hotspur FC), Phil Jagielka (Everton FC), Glen Johnson (Liverpool FC), Joleon Lescott (Manchester City FC), John Terry (Chelsea FC), Kyle Walker (Aston Villa FC).

Midfielders: Gareth Barry (Manchester City FC), Stewart Downing (Aston Villa FC), Matt Jarvis (Wolverhampton Wanderers FC), Frank Lampard (Chelsea FC), Aaron Lennon (Tottenham Hotspur FC), James Milner (Manchester City FC), Scott Parker (West Ham United FC), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal FC), Ashley Young (Aston Villa FC).

Strikers: Darren Bent (Aston Villa FC), Andy Carroll (Liverpool FC), Peter Crouch (Tottenham Hotspur FC), Jermain Defoe (Tottenham Hotspur FC), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United FC).

Mario Gavranović has been rewarded for a memorable week with a first call-up to the Switzerland squad. The 21-year-old striker, who also holds a Croatian passport, scored in FC Schalke 04's UEFA Champions League round of 16 victory against Valencia CF and could make his debut against Bulgaria. Coach Ottmar Hitzfeld has also turned to experience by selecting Johnny Leoni, Valon Behrami and Eren Derdiyok, who all missed out on the friendly against Malta.

Goalkeepers: Johnny Leoni (FC Zürich), Marco Wölfli (BSC Young Boys), Germano Vailati (FC St Gallen).

Defenders: François Affolter (BSC Young Boys), Stéphane Grichting (AJ Auxerre), Stephan Lichtsteiner (S.S. Lazio), Steve von Bergen (Hertha BSC Berlin), Reto Ziegler (UC Sampdoria).

Midfielders: Valon Behrami (ACF Fiorentina), Blerim Dzemaili (Parma FC), Gelson Fernandes (AC Chievo Verona), Gökhan Inler (Udinese Calcio), Xavier Margairaz (FC Zürich), Pirmin Schwegler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Xherdan Shaqiri (FC Basel 1893), Valentin Stocker (FC Basel 1893).

Strikers: Eren Derdiyok (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Alexander Frei (FC Basel 1893), Mario Gavranović (FC Schalke 04), Marco Streller (FC Basel 1893), Hakan Yakin (FC Luzern).

Bulgaria captain Stiliyan Petrov is in line to win his 100th cap against Switzerland after being included in Lothar Matthäus's 22-man selection. Five players from in-form PFC CSKA Sofia feature – including uncapped trio Rumen Trifonov, Boris Galchev and Spas Delev – along with PFC Lokomotiv Plovdiv 1936 forward Zdravko Lazarov. The 35-year-old won the last of his 30 caps in 2008. Midfielder Chavdar Yankov has a hamstring injury.

Goalkeepers: Nikolay Mihaylov (FC Twente), Vladislav Stoyanov (FC Sheriff).

Defenders: Stanislav Manolev (PSV Eindhoven), Ivan Bandalovski (PFC CSKA Sofia), Nikolay Bodurov (PFC Litex Lovech), Ivan Ivanov (FC Alania Vladikavkaz), Kostadin Stoyanov (PFC CSKA Sofia), Petar Zanev (PFC Litex Lovech), Rumen Trifonov (PFC CSKA Sofia).

Midfielders: Vladimir Gadzhev (PFC Levski Sofia), Boris Galchev (PFC CSKA Sofia), Blagoy Georgiev (FC Terek Grozny), Stanislav Angelov (Anorthosis Famagusta FC), Georgi Peev (FC Amkar Perm), Hristo Yanev (PFC Litex Lovech), Stiliyan Petrov (Aston Villa FC).

Forwards: Spas Delev (PFC CSKA Sofia), Ivelin Popov (Gaziantepspor), Zdravko Lazarov (PFC Lokomotiv Plovdiv), Nikolay Dimitrov (Kasımpaşa SK), Dimitar Makriev (FC Ashdod), Tsvetan Genkov (Wisła Kraków).

Aaron Ramsey makes his first appearance in the squad since the Arsenal FC midfielder suffered a double leg break 13 months ago, but Gareth Bale was forced to pull out with a hamstring problem. Robert Earnshaw has withdrawn from the squad through injury and has been replaced by Sam Vokes while James Collins has been included by manager Gary Speed despite concerns over his fitness.

Goalkeepers: Wayne Hennessey (Wolverhampton Wanderers FC), Boaz Myhill (West Bromwich Albion FC), Lewis Price (Crystal Palace FC).

Defenders: Danny Collins (Stoke City FC), James Collins (Aston Villa FC), Neil Eardley (Blackpool FC), Danny Gabbidon (West Ham United FC), Chris Gunter (Nottingham Forest FC), Lewin Nyatanga (Bristol City FC), Neil Taylor (Swansea City FC), Ashley Williams (Swansea City FC).

Midfielders: Joe Allen (Swansea City FC), Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur FC), Andrew Crofts (Norwich City FC), Andy King (Leicester City FC), Joe Ledley (Celtic FC), Aaron Ramsey (Arsenal FC), David Vaughan (Blackpool FC).

Forwards: Craig Bellamy (Cardiff City FC), Simon Church (Reading FC), Robert Earnshaw (Nottingham Forest FC), Chedwyn Evans (Sheffield United FC), Freddy Eastwood (Coventry City FC), Steve Morison (Millwall FC), Hal Robson-Kanu (Reading FC), Sam Vokes (Wolverhampton Wanderers FC)*.

Players in italics have withdrawn.
*Denotes replacement player.