EURO 2020: All you need to know about the tournament

When and where is it, how will it work and how can you be there? All you need to know about UEFA EURO 2020.

All you need to know about UEFA EURO 2020
All you need to know about UEFA EURO 2020 ©

What are the key dates?

The new final tournament dates are 11 June to 11 July 2021.

How does the group stage look?

The group stage draw was made in Bucharest on Saturday 30 November 2019.

Portugal v France: Their previous EURO meetings
Portugal v France: Their previous EURO meetings

Group A: Turkey, Italy, Wales, Switzerland

Group B: Denmark, Finland, Belgium, Russia

Group C: Netherlands, Ukraine, Austria, Play-off winner D*

Group D: England, Croatia, Play-off winner C, Czech Republic

Group E: Spain, Sweden, Poland, Play-off winner B

Group F: Play-off winner A*, Portugal, France, Germany


Semi-finals were confirmed at a separate draw in Nyon on 22 November 2019 and took place on 8 October 2020:

Path A: Iceland vs Romania, Bulgaria vs Hungary
Path B: Bosnia and Herzegovina vs Northern Ireland, Slovakia vs Republic of Ireland
Path C: Serbia vs Scotland
Path D: Georgia vs Belarus, North Macedonia vs Kosovo

The finals will take place on 12 November:

Path A: Hungary vs Iceland
Path B: Northern Ireland vs Slovakia
Path C: Scotland, Norway v Serbia
Path D: Georgia vs North Macedonia

Who are the hosts?

UEFA EURO 2020 is being held across the continent for the first time in the competition's 60-year history, with 12 host cities in all.

Check out the UEFA EURO 2020 host cities
Check out the UEFA EURO 2020 host cities

Final and semi-finals, one round of 16 game, three group games
, England: Wembley Stadium

Three group games, one quarter-final
Baku, Azerbaijan: Baku Olympic Stadium
Munich, Germany: Football Arena München
Rome, Italy: Olimpico in Rome
Saint Petersburg, Russia: Saint Petersburg Stadium

Three group games, one round of 16 game
Amsterdam, Netherlands: Johan Cruijff ArenA
Bilbao, Spain: San Mamés Stadium
Bucharest, Romania: National Arena Bucharest
Budapest, Hungary: Puskás Aréna
Copenhagen, Denmark: Parken Stadium
Dublin, Republic of Ireland: Dublin Arena
Glasgow, Scotland: Hampden Park

Do any hosts qualify automatically?

There are no automatic qualifiers, with all the nations with host cities required to earn their place at the finals.

How did qualifying work?

The success of the first 24-team UEFA European Championship – UEFA EURO 2016 – vindicated UEFA's decision to broaden the net for the final tournament, and 24 sides will be involved again at UEFA EURO 2020.

Watch all of Lewandowski's qualifying goals
Watch all of Lewandowski's qualifying goals

▪ Twenty teams – the top two in each of the ten groups – reached the tournament via the European Qualifiers, running from March to November 2019.

▪ Four more countries will qualify via the play-offs, which have been scheduled for 8 October (semi-finals) and 12 November (finals).

What is the tournament format?

The format will be the same as for UEFA EURO 2016. The top two in each of the six final tournament groups will proceed to the round of 16 along with the four best third-placed finishers.

Check out the regulations

Will the hosts play their games at home?

Host nations that qualify are automatically placed in the following groups.

Group A: Italy (Olimpico in Rome)*
Group B: Russia (Saint Petersburg Stadium), Denmark (Parken Stadium, Copenhagen)*
Group C: Netherlands (Johan Cruijff ArenA, Amsterdam)*
Group D: England (Wembley Stadium, London)*, Scotland (Hampden Park, Glasgow)
Group E: Spain (Estadio de San Mamés, Bilbao)*
Group F: Germany (Fußball Arena München, Munich)*, Hungary (Ferenc Puskás Stadium, Budapest)

*Guaranteed to play all three group stage games at home having qualified via the European Qualifiers. As Russia and Denmark both reached UEFA EURO 2020 via the European Qualifiers, an additional draw was held on 22 November 2019 to decide which team plays all three group stage games at home; Russia will have two group stage home games.

The Stadio Olimpico in Rome will host the opening game.

Why is it being held across 12 countries?

The EURO trophy
The EURO trophy©Getty Images

"There is great pleasure in being able to bring EURO 2020 to so many countries and cities, to see football acting as a bridge between nations, and to carry the competition closer to the fans, who are the essential lifeblood of the game," says UEFA President Aleksander Čeferin.

How can fans obtain tickets?

Approximately 2.5 million tickets for UEFA EURO 2020 are set to be sold to fans, with applications for the first tranche of 1.5m having taken place from 12 June to 12 July 2019.

Unsuccessful applicants become part of the UEFA 'Fans First' programme, meaning they are the first to know about any future opportunities to purchase tickets.

Tickets were then made available via the participating national associations (PNAs) in an application window that ran from 4–18 December 2019. To be eligible to apply for tickets during this phase, fans had to meet the specific criteria defined by the national associations.

All existing tickets remain valid for the tournament in 2021. Existing ticket buyers who nevertheless wish to return their ticket(s), will have a final opportunity to request a refund from 18 June to 25 June via Dates for potential future ticket sales including for fans of the four teams that will qualify via the play-offs will be confirmed at a later stage.

What if I want to volunteer?

The 12,000 vacancies for the UEFA EURO 2020 volunteer programme have been filled. The 12 host cities will be launching their own volunteer initiatives.

Who are the ambassadors?

A host of former EURO winners are among a star-studded line-up of ambassadors. "We look forward to their involvement in supporting UEFA EURO 2020 – an event that will be much closer to football fans than ever before," said UEFA President Aleksander Čeferin. Check out the full list of ambassadors here.

Who is the mascot?

Skillzy, a larger-than-life character inspired by freestyling, street and panna culture.