UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Ibrahimovic set for Sweden return

Zlatan Ibrahimovic has ended his self-imposed exile from the Sweden squad and returns to face Northern Ireland for the Group F game in Belfast on 28 March.

Zlatan Ibrahimović has ended his self-imposed exile from the Sweden squad and returns to face Northern Ireland in UEFA EURO 2008™ qualifying Group F on 28 March.

Blistering form
The FC Internazionale Milano striker had retired from international football after the 1-0 victory in Latvia on 2 September, but coach Lars Lagerbäck has persuaded the 25-year-old - whose 13 league goals this season have helped his club establish a 16-point cushion at the top of Serie A - back into the fold. FC København pair Tobias Linderoth and Marcus Allbäck are also included despite struggling with injuries, though Aalborg BK's Rade Prica and FC Twente midfielder Kennedy Bakircioglü are on standby.

Four wins
Lagerbäck's side won their first four fixtures to open up a five-point lead in the section, although second-placed Denmark have a game in hand. Northern Ireland also have seven points, and are unbeaten in their last three competitive matches, so the coach is taking nothing for granted ahead of the trip to Belfast's Windsor Park. "On paper Northern Ireland's squad may not be impressive, but under Lawrie Sanchez they've steadily climbed the FIFA rankings, so they're definitely a team that is going places," said Lagerbäck. Sweden will prepare for the game at London Colney, training ground of Arsenal FC.

Sweden squad
Goalkeepers: Andreas Isaksson (Machester City FC), Rami Shaaban (Fredrikstad FK).

Defenders: Petter Hansson (SC Heerenveen), Max von Schlebrügge (RSC Anderlecht), Mikael Nilsson (Panathinaikos FC), Oscar Wendt (FC København), Daniel Majstorovic (FC Basel 1893), Erik Edman (Stade Rennais FC), Olof Mellberg (Aston Villa FC).

Midfielders: Niclas Alexandersson (IFK Göteborg), Daniel Andersson (Malmö FF), Fredrik Ljungberg (Arsenal FC), Kim Källström (Olympique Lyonnais), Tobias Linderoth (FC København), Christian Wilhelmsson (AS Roma), Anders Svensson (IF Elfsborg).

Forwards: Marcus Allbäck (FC København), Markus Rosenberg (Werder Bremen), Zlatan Ibrahimović (FC Internazionale Milano), Johan Elmander (Toulouse FC).