UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

UEFA Europa League play-off draw

Nyon - - your local time

The draw is finished. Select Play to watch it back.
Results Procedure

UEFA Europa League play-off draw

The play-off draw involved 44 teams.

UEFA Europa League play-off draw

Group 1
Shkëndija (MKD) v AC Milan (ITA)
Osijek (CRO) v Austria Wien (AUT)
Crvena zvezda (SRB) v Krasnodar (RUS)
Club Brugge (BEL) v AEK Athens (GRE)
Marítimo (POR) v Dynamo Kyiv (UKR)

Group 2
Panathinaikos (GRE) v Athletic Club (ESP)
Apollon Limassol (CYP) v Midtjylland (DEN)
FH Hafnarfjördur (ISL) v Braga (POR)
Everton (ENG) v Hajduk Split (CRO)
Vitorul (ROU) v Salzburg (AUT)

Group 3
Vardar (MKD) v Fenerbahçe (TUR)
Ajax (NED) v Rosenborg (NOR)
Altach (AUT) v Maccabi Tel-Aviv (ISR)
BATE Borisov (BLR) v Oleksandriya (UKR)
Dinamo Zagreb (CRO) v Skënderbeu (ALB)
Ludogorets Razgrad (BUL) v Sūduva (LTU)

Group 4
Domžale (SVN) v Marseille (FRA)
Partizan (SRB) v Videoton (HUN)
Utrecht (NED) v Zenit (RUS)
Legia Warszawa (POL) v Sheriff Tiraspol (MDA)
Viktoria Plzeň (CZE) v AEK Larnaca (CYP)
PAOK (GRE) v Östersund (SWE)

When are the ties?

The ties are played on 17 and 24 August.

When and where was the draw?

The draw took place at 13:00CET on Friday 4 August at UEFA headquarters in Nyon.

How did the draw work?

Clubs were seeded according to their coefficient and were split into groups. All the clubs within each group were ordered randomly and identified by a number.

For each group of clubs, two bowls were prepared, one containing balls with slips of paper numbered for the seeded teams and the other containing balls with slips of paper for the unseeded teams.

A ball was taken from each bowl and placed into an empty third bowl in the middle, where they were shuffled. One of the two balls was drawn at random, then opened to display the number it contains, denoting the side playing at home in the first leg.

The second ball was drawn to complete the pairing. This procedure then applied throughout. The same procedure was carried out with the remaining balls to complete all the pairings.

What comes next?

The 22 winners go into the group stage draw in Monaco at 13:00CET on Friday 25 August, along with 16 automatic entrants and the ten teams defeated in the UEFA Champions League play-offs.