UEFA.com works better on other browsers
As of 25 January, UEFA.com will no longer support Internet Explorer.
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

UEFA Cup set for first-round draw

Eighty teams enter Friday's UEFA Cup first-round draw from 13.00CET in Monaco knowing they are just one two-legged tie from the competition's group stage.

Eighty teams enter Friday's UEFA Cup first-round draw from 13.00CET in Monaco knowing they are just one tie from the competition's group stage.

Different routes
All 32 winners from the second qualifying round go into the pots along with the sides who received a bye to the first round and the 16 teams defeated in the UEFA Champions League third qualifying round. For the draw, the clubs have been split into eight groups of ten, with five seeds in each pool to be drawn against any of the five unseeded sides. The teams that emerge victorious from the two-legged ties, scheduled for 14 and 28 September, will be divided into eight sections of five, with the first of five group-stage Matchdays on 19 October.

Sevilla defence
Holders Sevilla FC, who play FC Barcelona in Friday's UEFA Super Cup at the Stade Louis II, are among the clubs in the hat for the draw to be staged at the Grimaldi Forum. Along with Sevilla are former UEFA Cup winners AFC Ajax, Bayer 04 Leverkusen, Eintracht Frankfurt, Feyenoord, Parma FC, FC Schalke 04 and Tottenham Hotspur FC, plus other European-trophy winners FK Crvena Zvezda, Olympique de Marseille, Newcastle United FC, Paris Saint-Germain FC, Rangers FC and West Ham United FC. Eight future contenders will not yet take part - that octet join the fray in the last 32 after finishing third in their respective UEFA Champions League groups. All involved will be dreaming of going all the way to the final at Glasgow's Hampden Park on 16 May 2007.

Most Valuable Player award

Group 1: SeededUnseeded
Newcastle United FC (ENG)R. Standard de Liège (BEL)
Rangers FC (SCO)SC Braga (POR)
RC Celta de Vigo (ESP)Molde FK (NOR)
Hapoel Tel-Aviv FC (ISR)FC Chornomorets Odesa (UKR)
AC Chievo Verona (ITA)FC Levadia Tallinn (EST)

Group 2: SeededUnseeded
Panathinaikos FC (GRE)Maccabi Haifa FC (ISR)
Hertha BSC Berlin (GER)Legia Warszawa (POL)
Paris Saint-Germain FC (FRA)FC Metalurg Zaporizhzhya (UKR)
FK Austria Wien (AUT)Odense BK (DEN)
PFC Litex Lovech (BUL)Derry City FC (IRL)

Group 3: SeededUnseeded
FC Schalke 04 (GER)Heart of Midlothian FC (SCO)
AC Sparta Praha (CZE)AS Nancy-Lorraine (FRA)
FC Lokomotiv Moskva (RUS)SV Sulte Waregem (BEL)
Fenerbahçe SK (TUR)FC Salzburg (AUT)
Blackburn Rovers FC (ENG)Randers FC (DEN)

Group 4: SeededUnseeded
Parma FC (ITA)FK Crvena Zvezda (SCG)
AZ Alkmaar (NED)Eintracht Frankfurt (GER)
RC Lens (FRA)FC Rubin Kazan (RUS)
FC Slovan Liberec (CZE)Kayserispor (TUR)
Brøndby IF (DEN)Ethnikos Achnas FC (CYP)

Group 5: SeededUnseeded
Sevilla FC (ESP, holders)PFC CSKA Sofia (BUL)
Olympique de Marseille (FRA)Vitória FC (POR)
Beşiktaş JK (TUR)Atromitos FC (GRE)
SC Heerenveen (NED)FK Mladá Boleslav (CZE)
Grasshopper-Club (SUI)Åtvidabergs FF (SWE)

Group 6: SeededUnseeded
Feyenoord (NED)West Ham United FC (ENG)
FC Basel 1893 (SUI)CD Nacional (POR)
US Città di Palermo (ITA)Trabzonspor (TUR)
AFC Rapid Bucuresti (ROU)PFC Lokomotiv Sofia (BUL)
CA Osasuna (ESP)FK Rabotnicki (MKD)

Group 7: SeededUnseeded
Bayer 04 Leverkusen (GER)Tottenham Hotspur FC (ENG)
Club Brugge KV (BEL)FC Groningen (NED)
SK Slavia Praha (CZE)Skoda Xanthi FC (GRE)
FK Partizan (SCG)FC Sion (SUI)
FC Dinamo 1948 Bucuresti (ROU)MFK Ružomberok (SVK)

Group 8: SeededUnseeded
AFC Ajax (NED)NK Dinamo Zagreb (CRO)
AJ Auxerre (FRA)FC Artmedia (SVK)
RCD Espanyol (ESP)Iraklis FC (GRE)
Wisła Kraków (POL)IK Start (NOR)
AS Livorno Calcio (ITA) SV Pasching (AUT)