Intertoto eleven to enter UEFA Cup

Eleven teams have earned a place in Friday's draw for the UEFA Cup second qualifying round in Switzerland after winning through from the UEFA Intertoto Cup.

Eleven teams from across Europe have all earned a place in the 2007/08 UEFA Cup second qualifying round after winning through from the UEFA Intertoto Cup.

Big five
The summer competition concluded at the weekend with the decisive third-round matches when the likes of UC Sampdoria, Blackburn Rovers FC, Hamburger SV, Club Atlético de Madrid and RC Lens all made sure of an extended European campaign. In all, 50 teams took part in this year's UEFA Intertoto Cup, with the first-round action beginning on 23 June featuring 28 clubs. A further 14 sides joined at the second round before eight more, including the big five mentioned above, entered in the third round.

Friday draw
The UEFA Cup second qualifying round draw will be held at UEFA headquarters in Nyon, Switzerland this Friday after the conclusion of the first qualifying round on Thursday night. A total of 37 second-leg matches are being played this week and those winners will join a further 27 sides, including the Intertoto eleven, in the second qualifying round. The Intertoto team that gets the furthest in the UEFA Cup will be crowned winners of the competition. Newcastle United FC had this honour in 2006/07.

2007 UEFA Intertoto Cup winners
Aalborg BK (DEN)Blackburn Rovers FC (ENG)
Club Atlético de Madrid (ESP)FC Otelul Galati (ROU)
FC Tobol Kostanay (KAZ)Hamburger SV (GER)
Hammarby (SWE)RC Lens (FRA)
SK Rapid Wien (AUT)UD Leiria (POR)
UC Sampdoria (ITA)