UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Sixty-four in hat for UEFA Cup

The eleven UEFA Intertoto Cup winners are among the 64 clubs awaiting today's draw for the UEFA Cup second qualifying round at 13.00CET in Switzerland.

The UEFA Cup second qualifying round draw will take place from 13.00CET at UEFA headquarters in Nyon after the conclusion of the first qualifying round last night.

Next step
The 37 winners will be joined by 27 clubs entering the competition at this stage, including the eleven advancing from the UEFA Intertoto Cup. The 32 survivors of the second qualifying round on 16 and 30 August will enter the first round proper, to be staged over two legs on 20 September and 4 October, where 48 other clubs will lie in wait, including the four-time European champions FC Bayern München and the 16 sides eliminated in the third qualifying round of the UEFA Champions League. The first-round winners will participate in the UEFA Cup group stage.

Geographical draw
Friday's proceedings at UEFA headquarters in Nyon, Switzerland, will be conducted by UEFA General Secretary David Taylor and Giorgio Marchetti, director of professional football. The 64 clubs involved will be divided into three subdivisions – Southern, Central-East and Northern – with an equal number of clubs seeded and unseeded in accordance with UEFA coefficient rankings. Clubs from the same country can not be drawn against each other. The final will be played at the City of Manchester Stadium on 14 May 2008.

2007/08 UEFA Cup
2nd qualifying round draw
SOUTHERN - Group 1 seedings
Seeded clubsUnseeded clubs
NK Zrinjski (BIH) / FK Partizan (SRB)*PFC Lokomotiv Sofia (BUL)
Galatasaray SK (TUR)Maccabi Netanya FC (ISR)
UD Leiria (POR)Anorthosis Famagusta FC (CYP)
CFR 1907 Cluj (ROU)NK Slaven Koprivnica (CRO)
FC Otelul Galati (ROU)FK Rabotnicki (MKD)

SOUTHERN - Group 2 seedings
Seeded clubsUnseeded clubs
UC Sampdoria (ITA)Kayseri Erciyesspor (TUR)
Club Atlético de Madrid (ESP)HNK Hajduk Split (CRO)
PFC CSKA Sofia (BUL)FK Vojvodina (SRB)
Hapoel Tel-Aviv FC (ISR)AC Omonia (CYP)
PFC Litex Lovech (BUL)NK Široki Brijeg (BIH)
Maccabi Tel-Aviv FC (ISR)KS Besa (ALB)

CENTRAL-EAST - Group 1 seedings
Seeded clubsUnseeded clubs
FC Basel 1893 (SUI)SV Ried (AUT)
Hamburger SV (GER)SV Mattersburg (AUT)
FC Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk (UKR)GKS Bełchatów (POL)
FC Artmedia Petržalka (SVK)Budapest Honvéd FC (HUN)

CENTRAL-EAST - Group 2 seedings
Seeded clubsUnseeded clubs
RC Lens (FRA)FK Jablonec 97 (CZE)
FC Zenit St. Petersburg (RUS)BSC Young Boys (SUI)
FK Austria Wien (AUT)FC Dinamo Tbilisi (GEO)
Groclin Grodzisk Wielkopolski (POL)FC Vion Zlaté Moravce (SVK)
SK Rapid Wien (AUT)FC Tobol Kostanay (KAZ)

NORTHERN - Group 1 seedings
Seeded clubsUnseeded clubs
Blackburn Rovers FC (ENG)Myllykosken Pallo-47 (FIN)
Vålerenga IF (NOR)SK Liepájas Metalurgs (LVA)
Aalborg BK (DEN)FK Ekranas (LTU)
AIK Solna (SWE)HJK Helsinki (FIN)
Helsingborgs IF (SWE)Drogheda United FC (IRL)

NORTHERN - Group 2 seedings
Seeded clubsUnseeded clubs
Odense BK (DEN)Hammarby (SWE)
R. Standard de Liège (BEL)BK Häcken (SWE)
Dunfermline Athletic FC (SCO)FK Suduva (LTU)
FC Midtjylland (DEN)FC Haka (FIN)
Fredrikstad FK (NOR)FC Dinamo Minsk (BLR)
SK Brann (NOR)UN Kaerjeng 97 (LUX)

*The result of this draw is subject to the outcome of the appeal filed by Partizan against the sanctions imposed by the Disciplinary Body following the first qualifying round first-leg match played in Mostar on 19 July 2007. Partizan and the team they defeated 11-1 on aggregate Zrinjski therefore both appeared in the draw and the team proceeding to the next round will be established by the appeal decision. For seeding purposes, the pair were considered as having the same coefficient as the higher of the two teams, ie that Partizan.