UEFA.com works better on other browsers
As of 25 January, UEFA.com will no longer support Internet Explorer.
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Pot luck awaits Liverpool and Juve

Liverpool FC and Juventus are among a few stellar names preparing to enter the UEFA Europa League fray on Friday when the draw for the third qualifying round is made in Nyon, streamed live.

The draw will be made by UEFA general secretary Gianni Infantino
The draw will be made by UEFA general secretary Gianni Infantino ©Sportsfile

Having swapped Fulham FC for Liverpool FC during the summer, Roy Hodgson's quest for a second successive UEFA Europa League final begins on Friday with the draw for the third qualifying round, streamed live on UEFA.com from 13.30CET.

Fulham's extra-time defeat by Club Atlético de Madrid in May's Hamburg showpiece proved to be Hodgson's last game in charge and, having moved north this summer, his first match at the Liverpool helm will come in the same competition. He will learn who stands between his new charges and the play-offs after the draw in Nyon, with ties to be played on 29 July and 5 August.

The five-time European Champion Clubs' Cup winners are not the only side with continental pedigree awaiting their fate. Two-time European champions Juventus and 1991 titleholders FK Crvena Zvezda are also in the running along with UEFA Champions League regulars Sporting Clube de Portugal, VfB Stuttgart and 2000 UEFA Cup victors Galatasaray AŞ.

IFK Göteborg have two UEFA Cups to their name, though for Russia's FC Sibir Novosibirsk and Polish Cup winners Jagiellonia Białystok this represents a first step onto the European stage. Montpellier Hérault SC return to continental competition after an 11-year absence while Czech Cup holders FC Viktoria Plzeň will hope for a better draw than their only previous European tie in 1971 – Gerd Müller scored twice in a 7-1 aggregate win for FC Bayern München.

These sides are among 30 new contenders who will join 40 second qualifying round victors in Friday's draw. That could include Olympiacos FC, Beşiktaş JK and an APOEL FC team that contested last season's UEFA Champions League group stage.

Draw format
The 70 sides will be allocated to seven groups of ten teams. Each group is split into equal numbers of seeded and unseeded teams according to club rankings, and balls containing seeded teams will be placed in one bowl and unseeded teams in another. A ball from each bowl will be placed in a large empty bowl, where they are shuffled. The first side drawn will play its first match at home, against the second team drawn. Clubs from the same association may not be drawn against each other.

UEFA Europa League third qualifying round draw
Group 1
1Liverpool FC (ENG)Stabæk IF (NOR) – FC Dnepr Mogilev (BLR)
2Odense BK (DEN)PFC Beroe Stara Zagora (BUL)
3FK Sūduva (LTU) – SK Rapid Wien (AUT)FK Rabotnicki (MKD) – FC Mika (ARM)
4CS Marítimo (POR) – Sporting Fingal FC (IRL)FC Honka Espoo (FIN) – Bangor City FC (WAL)
5FC WIT Georgia (GEO) – FC Baník Ostrava (CZE)NK Zrinjski (BIH) – SP Tre Penne (SMR)
Group 2
6Juventus (ITA)Shamrock Rovers FC (IRL) – Bnei Yehuda Tel-Aviv FC (ISR)
7PFC CSKA Sofia (BUL)FK Ventspils (LVA) – FK Teteks (MKD)
8FC Timişoara (ROU)FC Zestafoni (GEO) – Dukla Banská Bystrica (SVK)
9KR Reykjavík (ISL) – FC Karpaty Lviv (UKR)Myllykosken Pallo-47 (FIN) – UE Sant Julià (AND)
10IF Elfsborg (SWE) – FC Iskra-Stali (MDA)Cliftonville FC (NIR) – HNK Cibalia (CRO)
Group 3
11Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR)FC Nordsjælland (DEN)
12FK Austria Wien (AUT) – NK Široki Brijeg (BIH)ŠK Slovan Bratislava (SVK)
13FK Crvena Zvezda (SRB)FC International Turku (FIN)
14KRC Genk (BEL)FC Videoton (HUN) – NK Maribor (SVN)
15Hibernian FC (SCO)Valletta FC (MLT) – KS Ruch Chorzów (POL)
Group 4
16KS Besa (ALB) – Olympiacos FC (GRE)Cercle Brugge KSV (BEL) – FC TPS Turku (FIN)
17Beşiktaş JK (TUR) – Vikingur (FRO)FC Viktoria Plzeň (CZE)
18Anorthosis Famagusta FC (CYP) – HNK Šibenik (CRO)Maccabi Tel-Aviv FC (ISR) – FK Mogren (MNE)
19KFK Šiauliai (LTU) – Wisla Kraków (POL)Gefle IF (SWE) – FC Dinamo Tbilisi (GEO)
20SK Sturm Graz (AUT)Portadown FC (NIR) – FK Qarabağ (AZE)
Group 5
21VfB Stuttgart (GER)FC Luzern (SUI)
22Maccabi Haifa FC (ISR)Molde FK (NOR) – FK Jelgava (LVA)
23Brøndby IF (DEN) – FC Vaduz (LIE)Apollon Limassol FC (CYP)
24FC Sibir Novosibirsk (RUS)FC Dinamo Minsk (BLR) – JK Sillamäe Kalev (EST)
25FC Utrecht (NED) – KF Tirana (ALB)FK Bakı (AZE) – FK Budućnost Podgorica (MNE)
Group 6
26AZ Alkmaar (NED)FC Lausanne-Sport (SUI) – Borac Banja Luka (BIH)
27FC Olimpia Bălţi (MDA) – FC Dinamo 1948 Bucureşti (ROU)IFK Göteborg (SWE)
28FC Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk (UKR)HNK Hajduk Split (CRO)
29Montpellier Hérault SC (FRA)FC Differdange 03 (LUX) – FK Spartak Zlatibor Voda (SRB)
30ND Gorica (SVN) – Randers FC (DEN)FK Atyrau (KAZ) – Gyõri ETO FC (HUN)
Group 7
31Galatasaray AŞ (TUR)Kalmar FF (SWE) – FC Dacia Chişinău (MDA)
32PFC Levski Sofia (BUL) – Dundalk FC (IRL)FK Jablonec 97 (CZE)
33Aris Thessaloniki FC (GRE)Aalesunds FK (NOR)
34FK Tauras (LTU) – APOEL FC (CYP)OFK Beograd (SRB) – FC Torpedo Zhodino (BLR)
35Motherwell FC (SCO) – Breidablik (ISL)Jagiellonia Bialystok (POL)