UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Spurs draw Shamrock, Atlético handed tough test

Tottenham Hotspur FC will play FC Rubin Kazan and surprise package Shamrock Rovers FC while 2010 winners Club Atlético de Madrid face a tough group after Friday's Monaco draw.

Spurs draw Shamrock, Atlético handed tough test
Spurs draw Shamrock, Atlético handed tough test ©UEFA.com

The UEFA Europa League group stage draw threw up several intriguing match-ups with 2010 winners Club Atlético de Madrid taking on Udinese Calcio and Stade Rennais FC in Group I, and Tottenham Hotspur FC meeting FC Rubin Kazan and surprise package Shamrock Rovers FC in Group A.

Friday's draw, which took place in Monaco, split 48 teams into 12 groups with other highlights including the pairing of Paris Saint-Germain FC and Athletic Club, and 2011 runners-up SC Braga facing Club Brugge KV, English second-tier club Birmingham City FC and NK Maribor.

FC Steaua Bucureşti will come up against FC Schalke 04, Maccabi Haifa FC and AEK Larnaca FC while the other side trying to reach the 2012 final in their home city, FC Rapid Bucureşti, must negotiate 1978 UEFA Cup winners PSV Eindhoven, Hapoel Tel-Aviv FC and Legia Warszawa.

Before helping to conduct the draw, UEFA General Secretary Gianni Infantino reminded clubs of the importance of being "united in our fight against match-fixing". He added: "Unfortunately, we have witnessed all too clearly the destructive effect that corruption can have on our sport and recent events have shown that it can reach all levels.

"That is why in order to protect our newest club competition, the UEFA Europa League, we will continue with our zero-tolerance policy approach to any forms of corruption. This is a fight that together we can and will win – all together."

Group games will be played from 15 September until 15 December, the day before the draws for the rounds of 32 and 16. The top two teams in each group will be joined by the third-placed UEFA Champions League group stage finishers in the knockout phase, which concludes at the National Stadium, Bucharest, on 9 May 2012.

2011/12 UEFA Europa League group stage
Full fixtures

Group A
Tottenham Hotspur FC (ENG)
FC Rubin Kazan (RUS)
Shamrock Rovers FC (IRL)

Group B
FC København (DEN)
R. Standard de Liège (BEL)
Hannover 96 (GER)
FC Vorskla Poltava (UKR)

Group C
PSV Eindhoven (NED)
Hapoel Tel-Aviv FC (ISR)
FC Rapid Bucureşti (ROU)
Legia Warszawa (POL)

Group D
Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR)
S.S. Lazio (ITA)
FC Zürich (SUI)
FC Vaslui (ROU)

Group E
FC Dynamo Kyiv (UKR)
Beşiktaş JK (TUR)
Stoke City FC (ENG)
Maccabi Tel-Aviv FC (ISR)

Group F
Paris Saint-Germain FC (FRA)
Athletic Club (ESP)
FC Salzburg (AUT)
ŠK Slovan Bratislava (SVK)

Group G
AZ Alkmaar (NED)
FC Metalist Kharkiv (UKR)
FK Austria Wien (AUT)
Malmö FF (SWE)

Group H
SC Braga (POR)
Club Brugge KV (BEL)
Birmingham City FC (ENG)
NK Maribor (SVN)

Group I
Club Atlético de Madrid (ESP)
Udinese Calcio (ITA)
Stade Rennais FC (FRA)
FC Sion (SUI)

Group J
FC Schalke 04 (GER)
FC Steaua Bucureşti (ROU)
Maccabi Haifa FC (ISR)
AEK Larnaca FC (CYP)

Group K
FC Twente (NED)
Fulham FC (ENG)
Odense BK (DEN)
Wisła Kraków (POL)

Group L
RSC Anderlecht (BEL)
AEK Athens FC (GRE)
FC Lokomotiv Moskva (RUS)
SK Sturm Graz (AUT)