UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Round of 16 second legs in numbers

Spanish clubs brought up a century of victories while Daniel Carriço matched a record and ACF Fiorentina also set one. We present the best stats from the second legs.

Daniel Carriço made a record-equalling 44th UEFA Europa League appearance
Daniel Carriço made a record-equalling 44th UEFA Europa League appearance ©AFP/Getty Images

• For the third successive season there will be six nations with clubs involved in the quarter-finals of the UEFA Europa League. Italy and Ukraine are the countries best represented with two teams apiece, while Belgium, Germany, Russia and Spain each provide one.

• The 2014/15 campaign is the first in which Portugal will not be represented in the last eight. The qualification of holders Sevilla means Spain has overtaken its Iberian neighbours as the nation with most quarter-finalists – nine in total over the six seasons of the competition.

• Sevilla are only the third side to have reached the quarter-finals in successive seasons, the other two being SL Benfica (who achieved the feat twice, in 2009/10 and 10/11, then 2012/13 and 13/14) and FC Basel 1893 (2012/13 and 13/14). Of the other seven remaining teams, just two have competed in the last eight before – VfL Wolfsburg (2009/10) and FC Dynamo Kyiv (2010/11).

• Spain became the first country to register 100 UEFA Europa League victories with Sevilla's 2-1 home success over fellow Liga outfit Villarreal CF. England are the next highest-placed nation in that ranking with 78 wins.

• Sevilla's Portuguese defender Daniel Carriço joined Paraguay forward Óscar Cardozo as the UEFA Europa League's most frequent participant when making his record-equalling 44th appearance, in the round of 16 second leg against Villarreal. It was his 18th outing in the competition for Sevilla, adding to the 26 amassed for Sporting Clube de Portugal.

• SSC Napoli's goalless draw at FC Dinamo Moskva was the Italian club's sixth in the UEFA Europa League – a competition record. Three other sides – Liverpool FC, SS Lazio and R. Standard de Liège – are next on the list with five stalemates apiece.

• Club Brugge KV have equalled the feat of Lazio (2012/13) and AZ Alkmaar (2013/14) in going ten games unbeaten from the start of the group stage to the completion of the round 16. Should they maintain that run in the first leg of their quarter-final, the record will be theirs alone, although they will have to stay undefeated for the rest of the campaign to match the competition high of 15 consecutive matches unbeaten, which Club Atlético de Madrid set over two seasons from November 2011 to October 2012.

• ACF Fiorentina's 3-0 win at AS Roma prolonged the Tuscan club's sequence of away games without defeat to ten – a competition record. Furthermore, the Viola have never lost on their travels in the UEFA Europa League.

• Dynamo Kyiv qualified after losing the first leg for the second round in succession, following up their round of 32 triumph over EA Guingamp with another comeback victory over Everton FC. Only one team had previously retrieved first-leg deficits in consecutive rounds of the UEFA Europa League – Liverpool in 2009/10 (round of 16 and quarter-final).

• AFC Ajax's extra-time, away-goals defeat by FC Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk means that no current domestic champions remain in the competition. The Dutch side's departure, plus that of Roma, leaves FC Zenit as the sole surviving club from the eight that crossed over during the winter from the UEFA Champions League.

• Two other quarter-finalists did, however, begin their 2014/15 European campaign in the UEFA Champions League, Dnipro being eliminated in the third qualifying round before joining the UEFA Europa League in the play-offs, and Napoli switching competitions a round later.

• Four of the seven teams that were seeded automatically for the UEFA Europa League group stage have made the quarter-finals – Fiorentina, Wolfsburg, Dynamo Kyiv and holders Sevilla. The other three were Estoril Praia (eliminated in the group stage), Guingamp (round of 32) and Everton (round of 16), the latter two having been knocked out by Dynamo.

Related Items