UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Sevilla out on their own in all-time standings

Sevilla's love affair with the UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League shows no sign of abating after a fifth trophy extended their lead at the top of the all-time leaderboard.

Sevilla celebrate their third successive triumph
Sevilla celebrate their third successive triumph ©Getty Images

Sevilla's remarkable success story continues in the UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League as an unprecedented third consecutive triumph took them to five overall – two more than any other side.

Sevilla's victory over Liverpool in Basel was the Spanish team's fifth in 11 years and prevented the English outfit joining them at the top of the all-time leaderboard. The Reds, who lifted the trophy in 1972/73, 1975/76 and 2000/01, remain at the head of the chasing pack alongside fellow three-time winners Internazionale Milano and Juventus.

Historic hat-trick
Sevilla also achieved a competition first in Switzerland by making it three UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League titles in as many years. The previous best was from Luis Molowny's Real Madrid side, who managed back-to-back victories in 1984/85 and 1985/86, and Sevilla's class of 2005/06 and 2006/07 under Juande Ramos.

It is also the first time a team have won three successive editions of a major UEFA competition since Bayern's third straight European Cup in 1976. Only one side have mustered more: the Real Madrid outfit that reigned in the first five editions of the European Cup.

UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League: multiple winners
Sevilla – 5
Internazionale Milano – 3
Juventus – 3
Liverpool – 3
Borussia Mönchengladbach – 2
Feyenoord – 2
Göteborg – 2
Real Madrid – 2
Parma – 2
Porto – 2
Atlético Madrid – 2