UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Sevilla's first four final successes

Sevilla have won a third successive UEFA Europa League; UEFA.com presents highlights of their four previous successes in this competition, starting in 2006.

Sevilla celebrate winning the competition for a fourth time in 2015
Sevilla celebrate winning the competition for a fourth time in 2015 ©AFP/Getty Images

2006: Middlesbrough 0-4 Sevilla
 (Luis Fabiano 27, Maresca 78 84, Kanouté 89) 
The Spanish team arrived in Eindhoven having failed to win major silverware since 1948, but with an Andalusian-strength sun on their backs there was always a sense this was going to be their day. Luis Fabiano's header midway through the first half ensured the fiesta continued in the PSV Stadium.

Then, as Middlesbrough flagged like so many of their fans at the end of a fairy-tale journey of their own, Juande Ramos's men picked them off in the closing stages. "Seville is a capital of European football now," the coach announced to general mirth in the post-match press conference. Ten years on, that comment seems rather prescient.

2007: Espanyol 2-2 Sevilla (aet, Sevilla win 3-1 on pens)
 (Riera 28, Jônatas 115; Adriano 18, Kanouté 105) 
Nine of the 2006 XI started in Glasgow too, and, like 12 months before, there were four goals – this time shared evenly between two Liga rivals. Despite the dismissal of Moisés Hurtado, Espanyol forced extra time and then penalties. Step forward Andrés Palop to save spot kicks from Luis García, Jônatas and Marc Torrejón and take the man of the match award.

Sevilla therefore equalled Real Madrid's 1985/86 achievement of back-to-back titles. "A penalty shoot-out is a lottery," said Ramos. "Tension means anything can happen as, with the pressure on, the legs get heavy and people get nervous. We were able to draw on the experience of playing last year."

2014: Sevilla 0-0 Benfica (aet, Sevilla win 4-2 on pens)
Sevilla elevated themselves among European football's aristocracy as a marathon 19-game campaign – spanning ten months and drama aplenty – culminated in a tense triumph. That it again went to penalties – where Portuguese goalkeeper Beto was Sevilla's hero against so many of his compatriots – was fitting.

It was a season where they were always fashionably late – they beat local rivals Real Betis in a last-16 shoot-out and needed Stéphane Mbia's 94th-minute header against Valencia to book a place in the Turin final. "If there is one thing we have learned to do, it is to suffer," said coach Unai Emery. "The players were prepared for this."

Sevilla’s 2015 glory

2015: Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk 2-3 Sevilla
Sevilla become the first side to lift the UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League trophy for a fourth time, though outsiders Dnipro caused them more than a few problems in Warsaw. Nikola Kalinić gave the Ukrainian side an early lead, and they dragged Sevilla back to 2-2 by half-time before Carlos Bacca's second strike of the night secured the trophy.

"Bacca usually scores and today he had the opportunity to get two," said defender Daniel Carriço. "But when we win, we all win, from the kit man to the chairman." Man of the match Éver Banega added: "Winning this final and going straight into the Champions League – what more can you ask for?!"