UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Pandiani picks up scoring prize

The only RCD Espanyol player to score in the shoot-out defeat by Sevilla FC, Walter Pandiani has finished this season's UEFA Cup as its eleven-goal top scorer.

Walter Pandiani was unable to add to his tally of eleven goals in this season's UEFA Cup as RCD Espanyol lost the final on penalties to Sevilla FC following a 2-2 draw, yet nonetheless finished well clear of the pack in the race to be the competition's top scorer. The Uruguayan forward was the only Espanyol player to score in the shoot-out, which the holders won 3-1.

Klinsmann mark
As he has done for much of the season, Pandiani started on the bench in Glasgow despite scoring a hat-trick against Real Madrid CF at the weekend. He may have struck just seven goals in the Primera División this term but he has been a very different proposition in Europe. His 14 UEFA Cup appearances have brought an impressive eleven goals, a haul surpassed by only three players in the history of the competition - Jürgen Klinsmann (15), John Wark (14) and Derlei (12). Klinsmann heads the all-time list after proving deadly in front of goal when lifting the trophy with FC Bayern München in 1995/96, yet for this season it is 'El Rifle', the 31-year-old Pandiani, who claims the honours.

Impressive haul
Claudiu Niculescu finishes second in the 2006/07 ranking, despite FC Dinamo 1948 Bucuresti bowing out against SL Benfica in the Round of 32, ahead of three players on seven goals. AFC Ajax's Klaas Jan Huntelaar, Shota Arveladze of AZ Alkmaar and Tottenham Hotspur FC's Dimitar Berbatov all reached that mark, though Luis García failed to join them after being unable to improve on his six strikes in Glasgow. Only matches from the first round onwards count toward the scorers' totals.

2006/07 UEFA Cup top scorers
Walter PandianiRCD Espanyol11
Claudiu NiculescuFC Dinamo 1948 Bucuresti8
Klaas Jan HuntelaarAFC Ajax7
Shota ArveladzeAZ Alkmaar7
Dimitar BerbatovTottenham Hotspur FC7
Luis GarcíaRCD Espanyol6
Obafemi MartinsNewcastle United FC6
PauletaParis Saint-Germain FC6