UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Derbies in store for Atlético and Tottenham

Recent winners Club Atlético de Madrid and Sevilla FC face play-off ties against Portuguese and German opposition, while Tottenham Hotspur FC will travel to Scotland after Friday's draw.

The UEFA Europa League trophy on display in Nyon
The UEFA Europa League trophy on display in Nyon ©UEFA.com

The 2010 winners Club Atlético de Madrid will have to overcome Vitória SC if they are to reach the UEFA Europa League group stage, while Tottenham Hotspur FC were paired with fellow British club Heart of Midlothian FC in today's play-off draw in Nyon.

The third team out of the hat, Atlético know what it takes to go all the way in this competition and will have designs on reaching the final in Bucharest on 9 May. As will the three clubs in the competition from the Romanian capital, FC Dinamo Bucureşti (drawn against FC Vorskla Poltava), FC Steaua Bucureşti (PFC CSKA Sofia) and FC Rapid Bucureşti (WKS Śląsk Wrocław).

Sevilla FC face Hannover 96 having won the competition under Juande Ramos in 2006 and 2007. The Spaniard now coaches FC Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk and faces a return to London, where he managed Spurs, to tackle 2010 runners-up Fulham FC. Last year's beaten finalists, SC Braga, face BSC Young Boys and AS Roma meet ŠK Slovan Bratislava.

FK Rabotnicki, the first Macedonian club to reach this stage, were paired with S.S. Lazio. Like UEFA Respect Fair Play entrants Fulham, Rabotnicki have fought through to the play-offs from the first qualifying round along with FC Dinamo Tbilisi and FC Spartak Trnava. The lowest-ranked side in the draw, Shamrock Rovers FC, lie in wait for FK Partizan.

The first legs will be played on 18 August, with the returns to follow a week later (view the full fixture schedule). The 38 play-off winners will join the ten defeated sides from the UEFA Champions League play-offs in the group stage, which starts on 15 September. The group stage draw takes place in Monaco on 26 August.

UEFA Europa League play-off draw
Maccabi Tel-Aviv FC (ISR) v Panathinaikos FC (GRE)
Club Atlético de Madrid (ESP) v Vitória SC (POR)
Shamrock Rovers FC (IRL) v FK Partizan (SRB)
FC Metalist Kharkiv (UKR) v FC Sochaux-Montbéliard (FRA)
Beşiktaş JK (TUR) v FC Alania Vladikavkaz (RUS)
Rosenborg BK (NOR) v AEK Larnaca FC (CYP)
FC Vorskla Poltava (UKR) v FC Dinamo Bucureşti (ROU)
Bursaspor (TUR) v RSC Anderlecht (BEL)
AS Roma (ITA) v ŠK Slovan Bratislava (SVK)
FC Differdange 03 (LUX) v Paris Saint-Germain FC (FRA)*
Legia Warszawa (POL) v FC Spartak Moskva (RUS)
FK Ekranas (LTU) v Hapoel Tel-Aviv FC (ISR)
PAOK FC (GRE) v FC Karpaty Lviv (UKR)
Trabzonspor AŞ (TUR) v Athletic Club (ESP)
Heart of Midlothian FC (SCO) v Tottenham Hotspur FC (ENG)
NK Maribor (SVN) v Rangers FC (SCO)
FC Steaua Bucureşti (ROU) v PFC CSKA Sofia (BUL)
FC Nordsjælland (DEN) v Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR)
FC Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk (UKR) v Fulham FC (ENG)
FC Lokomotiv Moskva (RUS) v FC Spartak Trnava (SVK)
FC Sion (SUI) v Celtic FC (SCO)
WKS Śląsk Wrocław (POL) v FC Rapid Bucureşti (ROU)
PFC Litex Lovech (BUL) v FC Dynamo Kyiv (UKR)
S.S. Lazio (ITA) v FK Rabotnicki (MKD)
CD Nacional (POR) v Birmingham City FC (ENG)
PSV Eindhoven (NED) v SV Ried (AUT)
FC Thun (SUI) v Stoke City FC (ENG)
Aalesunds FK (NOR) v AZ Alkmaar (NED)
FC Vaslui (ROU) v AC Sparta Praha (CZE)
AC Omonia (CYP) v FC Salzburg (AUT)
FC Zestafoni (GEO) v Club Brugge KV (BEL)
Hannover 96 (GER) v Sevilla FC (ESP)
HJK Helsinki (FIN) v FC Schalke 04 (GER)
FC Dinamo Tbilisi (GEO) v AEK Athens FC (GRE)
Stade Rennais FC (FRA) v FK Crvena zvezda (SRB)
CS Gaz Metan Mediaş (ROU) v FK Austria Wien (AUT)
SC Braga (POR) v BSC Young Boys (SUI)
R. Standard de Liège (BEL) v Helsingborgs IF (SWE)

*Differdange have replaced Olympiacos Volou FC, who have been excluded from the competition for a disciplinary breach.