Hamburg face Honvéd tie

Former European champions Hamburger SV will play Hungarian side Budapest Honvéd FC in the second qualifying round after the draw was made in Nyon.

Former European champions Hamburger SV will meet Budapest Honvéd FC in the 2007/08 UEFA Cup second qualifying round after the draw was made in Nyon.

The 37 first qualifying round winners were joined by 27 clubs entering the competition at this stage, including the eleven advancing from the UEFA Intertoto Cup, among whose number were Hamburg, Club Atlético de Madrid and UC Sampdoria. Today's draw was conducted by UEFA General Secretary David Taylor and Giorgio Marchetti, director of professional football.

Galatasaray bid

Road to Manchester
Once this stage is completed the first round draw will be held on 31 August in Nyon, with the ties to be held over two legs on 20 September and 4 October. Lying in wait for the 32 victors from the final qualifying round will be 48 other clubs including the four-time European champions and 1996 UEFA Cup winners FC Bayern München and the 16 sides eliminated in the third qualifying round of the UEFA Champions League. The 40 first-round winners will participate in the UEFA Cup group stage, with the eventual goal a place in the final at the City of Manchester Stadium on Wednesday 14 May 2008.

2007/08 UEFA Cup second qualifying round draw
First leg:
16 August
Second leg: 30 August
FC Otelul Galati (ROU) v PFC Lokomotiv Sofia (BUL)
CFR 1907 Cluj (ROU) v Anorthosis Famagusta FC (CYP)
FK Rabotnicki (MKD) v NK Zrinjski (BIH) / FK Partizan (SRB)*
NK Slaven Koprivnica (CRO) v Galatasaray SK (TUR)
UD Leiria (POR) v Maccabi Netanya FC (ISR)
HNK Hajduk Split (CRO) v UC Sampdoria (ITA)
KS Besa (ALB) v PFC Litex Lovech (BUL)
Maccabi Tel-Aviv FC (ISR) v Kayseri Erciyesspor (TUR)
Club Atlético de Madrid (ESP) v FK Vojvodina (SRB)
NK Široki Brijeg (BIH) v Hapoel Tel-Aviv FC (ISR)
AC Omonia (CYP) v PFC CSKA Sofia (BUL)
FC Basel 1893 (SUI) v SV Mattersburg (AUT)
SV Ried (AUT) v FC Sion (SUI)
FC MIKA (ARM) v FC Artmedia Petržalka (SVK)
FC Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk (UKR) v GKS Bełchatów (POL)
Budapest Honvéd FC (HUN) v Hamburger SV (GER)
BSC Young Boys (SUI) v RC Lens (FRA)
FC Tobol Kostanay (KAZ) v Groclin Grodzisk Wielkopolski (POL)
FK Austria Wien (AUT) v FK Jablonec 97 (CZE)
FC Vion Zlaté Moravce (SVK) v FC Zenit St. Petersburg (RUS)
SK Rapid Wien (AUT) v FC Dinamo Tbilisi (GEO)
Myllykosken Pallo-47 (FIN) v Blackburn Rovers FC (ENG)
Drogheda United FC (IRL) v Helsingborgs IF (SWE)
SK Liepájas Metalurgs (LVA) v AIK Solna (SWE)
HJK Helsinki (FIN) v Aalborg BK (DEN)
FK Ekranas (LTU) v Vålerenga IF (NOR)
Dunfermline Athletic FC (SCO) v BK Häcken (SWE)
SK Brann (NOR) v FK Suduva (LTU)
FC Haka (FIN) v FC Midtjylland (DEN)
FC Dinamo Minsk (BLR) v Odense BK (DEN)
UN Käerjéng 97 (LUX) v R. Standard de Liège (BEL)
Fredrikstad FK (NOR) v Hammarby (SWE)

*The result of this draw is subject to the outcome of the appeal filed by Partizan against the sanctions imposed by the Disciplinary Body following the first qualifying round first-leg match played in Mostar on 19 July 2007. Partizan and the team they defeated 11-1 on aggregate, Zrinjski, therefore both appeared in the draw and the team proceeding to the next round will be established by the appeal decision. For seeding purposes, the pair were considered as having the same coefficient as the higher of the two teams, ie Partizan.