UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

2022/23 Futsal Champions League at a glance: Palma's debut triumph

Mallorca Palma Futsal qualified for the finals on debut, were picked as hosts, and lifted the trophy after beating Sporting CP on penalties.

Champions Palma
Champions Palma UEFA via Getty Images

There is a new name on the UEFA Futsal Champions League trophy after debutants Mallorca Palma Futsal beat Sporting CP on penalties in the final.

Palma defeated Benfica 4-3 in a tense semi-final, after Sporting had overcome Sporting Anderlecht Futsal, the first Belgian side to reach the last four since 2007. Benfica eventually took bronze, and then Palma edged Sporting on spot kicks at a sold-out Velòdrom Illes Balears to inflict their opponents' fifth defeat in seven finals. The win represented a first major sporting title at club level for the island of Mallorca.

Final highlights: Palma 1-1 Sporting CP (aet, 5-3 pens)

Finals results

Sunday 7 May

Mallorca Palma Futsal 1-1 Sorting CP (aet, 5-3 pens)
Third-place play-off
Benfica 4-3 Sporting Anderlecht Futsal

Friday 5 May

Sporting CP 7-1 Sporting Anderlecht Futsal
Mallorca Palma Futsal 4-3 Benfica 

Player of the Tournament: Luan Muller (Palma)
UEFA via Getty Images

Mallorca Palma Futsal goalkeeper Luan Muller was named UEFA Futsal Champions League Player of the Tournament by the UEFA technical observer panel.

Top scorers (finals)

3 Ivan Chishkala (Benfica)
Gréllo (Sporting Anderlecht Futsal)
Neves (Sporting CP)
2 Hossein Tayebi (Mallorca Palma Futsal)

Ivan Chishkala (right) scored a finals-leading three goals for Benfica
Ivan Chishkala (right) scored a finals-leading three goals for BenficaUEFA via Sportsfile

Top scorers (season)

11 Vinicius Lazzaretti (Piast Gliwice)
9 Jere Intala (Kampuksen Dynamo)
9 Mladen Kocić (Loznica-Grad 2018)
7 Miguel Ângelo (Piast Gliwice)
7 Denerson (London Helvécia)
7 Dudu (Loznica-Grad 2018)
7 Italo (Kampuksen Dynamo)
7 Artjoms Kozlovskis (Petro-w)
7 Neves (Sporting CP)
7 Newton (Kampuksen Dynamo)
7 Richard Rejala (Differdange)
7 Vinicius Rocha (Benfica)
7 Hossein Tayebi (Mallorca Palma Futsal)

Trophy lift: Palma celebrate maiden title


    • Palma's win means that all five debutants who have managed to reach the final (not counting the inaugural edition) have triumphed.
    • Spanish clubs have won 12 of the 22 competition editions, and now boast a record four different champions (Playas de Castellón, Inter FS, Barça and now Palma).
    • Sporting are the first team to reach six finals in seven years. Since the tournament became the Futsal Champions League in 2018/19, they have missed only one final. However, they have now equalled FC Dynamo's record of five final defeats.
    • Sporting were contesting their third straight final, matching the record they previously equalled between 2017 and 2019, and share with FC Dynamo (2005, 2006, 2007 and 2012, 2013, 2014), Inter (2016, 2017, 2018) and Barça (2020, 2021, 2022).
    • Sporting coach Nuno Dias coached his 15th finals game in his seventh final tournament and his sixth final, all outright records.
    • Sporting captain João Matos played his 19th finals game and seventh separate final (some players have played eight final matches, including both legs under the pre-2007 format). Matos became the first player to reach 75 competition appearances in the semi-finals.
    Palma and the other debutant winners

    Roll of honour

    UEFA Futsal Champions League

    Four-team finals:
    2023 (Palma de Mallorca): Mallorca Palma Futsal (ESP) 1-1aet, 5-3pens Sporting CP (POR)
    2022 (Riga): Barça (ESP) 4-0 Sporting CP (POR)
    Eight-team finals:
    2021 (Zadar): Sporting CP (POR) 4-3 Barça (ESP)
    Four-team finals:

    2020 (Barcelona): Barça (ESP) 2-1 Murcia FS (ESP)
    2019 (Almaty): Sporting CP (POR) 2-1 Kairat Almaty (KAZ)

    Third-place play-off highlights: Benfica 4-3 Anderlecht

    UEFA Futsal Cup

    Four team finals:
    2018 (Zaragoza): Inter FS (ESP) 5-2 Sporting CP (POR)
    2017 (Almaty): Inter FS (ESP) 7-0 Sporting CP (POR)
    2016 (Guadalajara): Ugra Yugorsk (RUS) 4-3 Inter FS (ESP)
    2015 (Lisbon): Kairat Almaty (KAZ) 3-2 Barça (ESP)
    2014 (Baku): Barça (ESP) 5-2aet FC Dynamo (RUS)
    2013 (Tbilisi): Kairat Almaty (KAZ) 4-3 FC Dynamo (RUS)
    2012 (Lleida): Barça (ESP) 3-1 FC Dynamo (RUS)
    2011 (Almaty): Montesilvano (ITA) 5-2 Sporting CP (POR)
    2010 (Lisbon): Benfica (POR) 3-2aet Inter FS (ESP)
    2009 (Ekaterinburg): Inter FS (ESP) 5-1 Sinara Ekaterinburg (RUS)
    2008 (Moscow): Sinara Ekaterinburg (RUS) 4-4aet, 3-2pens Murcia FS (ESP)
    2007 (Murcia): FC Dynamo (RUS) 2-1 Inter FS (ESP)
    Two-legged finals:
    2006: Inter FS (ESP) 6-3/3-4: 9-7agg FC Dynamo (RUS)
    2005: Action 21 Charleroi (BEL) 4-3, 6-6aet: 10-9agg FC Dynamo (RUS)
    2004: Inter FS (ESP) 4-1/3-4: 7-5agg Benfica (POR)
    2003: Playas de Castellón (ESP) 1-1/6-4: 7-5agg Action 21 Charleroi (BEL)
    Eight-team finals:
    2002 (Lisbon): Playas de Castellón (ESP) 5-1 Action 21 Charleroi (BEL)

    Semi-final highlights: Palma 4-3 Benfica

    Most titles

    Inter FS 5
    Barça 4
    Kairat Almaty, Playas de Castellón, Sporting CP 2

    Most finals

    Inter FS 8
    Sporting CP 7
    Barça, FC Dynamo 6
    Action 21 Charleroi, Kairat Almaty 3

    Most finals appearances (since 2007)

    Barça, Kairat Almaty, Sporting CP 9
    Inter FS 8
    Benfica, FC Dynamo 6

    Semi-final highlights: Sporting CP 7-1 Anderlecht