UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Fifteen places on offer as U17 elite round begins

Holders France and fellow two-time winners England, the Netherlands and Spain are among the 32 teams competing for 15 final tournament places when the elite round begins.

The Netherlands hope to pip old rivals Germany
The Netherlands hope to pip old rivals Germany ©FAW

Holders France and fellow two-time winners Spain, England and the Netherlands are among the 32 teams competing for 15 UEFA European Under-17 Championship final tournament places alongside hosts Azerbaijan when the elite round begins on Friday.

Elite round groups
Group 1 (28 March-2 April):
Czech Republic*, Denmark, Switzerland, Scotland

Group 2 (24-29 March): England*, Ukraine, Turkey, Finland

Group 3 (15-20 March): Russia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Italy, Georgia*

Group 4 (24-29 March): Germany*, Netherlands, Slovakia, Bulgaria

Group 5 (16-21 March): Portugal, Croatia*, Sweden, Wales

Group 6 (29 March-3 April): France* (holders), Austria, Greece, Iceland

Group 7 (28 March-2 April): Republic of Ireland, Poland*, Serbia, Montenegro

Group 8 (11-16 March): Spain, Belgium*, Israel, Slovenia


Highlights: 2015 final

• The eight group winners and the seven runners-up with the best records against the teams first and third in their section will join hosts Azerbaijan in the finals draw on 8 April, with the matches from 5 to 21 May.

• Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro and Wales all hope to join Azerbaijan in making U17 final tournament debuts.

• France beat Greece 1-0 in their last group game to reach the 2015 quarter-finals on their way to the title.

• The five teams that went through from third place in their qualifying round groups were able to play sides from their sections in that stage: Iceland drew 1-1 with Greece in their group and Slovenia were beaten 2-1 by Belgium.

• Germany, who received a bye to this round as top seeds, have played the Netherlands in three finals. Germany won in 2009 but the Netherlands triumphed in 2011 and 2012.

• Last month, Germany won the prestigious Algarve tournament, beating the Netherlands 1-0 and Portugal 5-0 either side of a 1-1 draw with England. the Netherlands drew 1-1 with Portugal and beat England 2-0 to finish second.

• Portugal boast qualifying round top scorer João Filipe of Benfica.

• Russia defeated Italy on penalties in the 2013 final.