UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Under-17 elite round lineup set

Holders France and best third-placed sides Wales, Slovenia, Finland, Iceland and Scotland are among 31 teams joining top seeds Germany in the elite round draw on 3 December.

Wales were one of five best third-placed teams
Wales were one of five best third-placed teams ©FAW

Holders France are among 31 teams to have progressed from the UEFA European Under-17 Championship qualifying round to join top seeds Germany in the elite round draw at 11.45CET on 3 December.

Thirteen groups have been played since 22 September, with France among the teams progressing in the top two of each section. Joining them are the five third-placed nations with the best record against the leading pair in their group: Wales, Slovenia, Finland, Iceland and Scotland.

Qualified teams
Bye as top seeds: Germany
Group 1: Netherlands, Switzerland, Wales*
Group 2: Russia, Montenegro
Group 3: Republic of Ireland, Sweden, Finland*
Group 4: Slovakia, Georgia
Group 5: Austria, Serbia
Group 6: Spain, Poland
Group 7: Czech Republic, Croatia
Group 8: Denmark, Greece, Iceland*
Group 9: England, Portugal
Group 10: Belgium, Turkey, Slovenia*
Group 11: France (holders), Israel
Group 12: Italy, Bulgaria, Scotland*
Group 13: Ukraine, Bosnia and Herzegovina

*Five best third-placed teams

Diogo Gonçalves in action for Portugal
Diogo Gonçalves in action for Portugal©Sportsfile

Qualifying round facts
• Portugal's João Filipe top-scored with five goals.
Russia, Spain and France all progressed with a perfect nine points.
Russia and France did not concede a goal.
The Czech Republic were top scorers on 15 goals.
In Group 4, the top two was set to be Romania and Hungary as the last games entered added time, but Slovakia equalised against Romania and Georgia levelled versus Hungary to snatch the qualifying places and eliminate their opponents.

Road to Azerbaijan
• The 32 elite round hopefuls will be split into four seeding pots of eight teams for the draw on 3 December.
• Eight groups will be formed by the draw to be played by the end of March.
• The eight group winners and the seven runners-up with the best record against teams first and third in their section will join hosts Azerbaijan in the finals from 5–21 May.

Selected for you