UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

2020/21 U19 qualifying round draw made

The 2020/21 qualifying round draw has set the first steps on the road to Romania.

Arsen Yeghiazaryan makes the draw
Arsen Yeghiazaryan makes the draw ©UEFA via Getty Images

The 2020/21 edition was subsequently cancelled.

The 2020/21 UEFA European Under-19 Championship qualifying round draw has been made, starting the road to the finals in Romania. The draw was made by Arsen Yeghiazaryan, captain of last season’s Armenia team, who received the Respect Fair Play trophy on behalf of the squad from UEFA general secretary Theodore Theodoridis.

Group 1: Italy, Slovakia (hosts), Cyprus, Kosovo

Group 2: Ukraine, Israel (hosts), Belarus, Montenegro

Group 3: Austria, Sweden (hosts), Northern Ireland, Gibraltar

Group 4: Germany, Scotland, Switzerland (hosts), Luxembourg

Group 5: Czech Republic (hosts), Denmark, North Macedonia, Albania

Group 6: Croatia (hosts), Georgia, Latvia, Kazakhstan

Group 7: Republic of Ireland (hosts), Poland, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Estonia

Group 8: France, Greece, Azerbaijan, Moldova (hosts)

Group 9: Norway (hosts), Hungary, Iceland, Andorra

Group 10: England, Slovenia, Wales (hosts), Malta

Group 11: Netherlands (hosts), Serbia, Armenia, San Marino

Group 12: Turkey, Bulgaria (hosts), Russia, Lithuania

Group 13: Spain, Belgium (hosts), Finland, Faroe Islands

• The winner of each group join top seeds Portugal in the play-offs in May 2021, which will produce Romania's seven finals opponents from 30 June to 13 July 2021.

How the draw worked

Draw procedure and seeding pots

Pot A: France, England, Italy, Netherlands, Czech Republic, Spain*, Germany, Ukraine*, Republic of Ireland, Norway, Turkey, Austria, Croatia

Pot B: Greece, Belgium, Sweden, Serbia*, Poland, Slovakia, Scotland, Israel, Bulgaria, Hungary, Denmark, Slovenia, Georgia

Pot C: Russia*, Finland, Switzerland, Bosnia and Herzegovina*, Cyprus, Wales, Latvia, Iceland, Azerbaijan, North Macedonia, Northern Ireland, Belarus, Armenia

Pot D: Montenegro, Kosovo*, Malta, Albania, Kazakhstan, Andorra, Luxembourg, Moldova, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Lithuania, Gibraltar*, San Marino

*Based on previous decisions of the UEFA Executive Committee and UEFA Emergency Panel, these teams cannot be drawn together: Spain and Gibraltar, Ukraine and Russia, Serbia and Kosovo, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Kosovo

Who is involved?
• Hosts Romania qualify directly for the final tournament in summer 2021.

• Top seeds Portugal receive a bye.

• The remaining 52 entrants start in the qualifying round where they were split into 13 groups of four.

The draw
• There were four seeding pots in accordance with the coefficient rankings list, with the 13 countries with the highest ranking in Pot A, the next 13 in Pot B, and so on.

• Each group has one team from each pot, with hosts then appointed to stage the mini-tournaments.