UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Under-19s set out on road to Georgia

Fifty-two teams are involved in the U19 EURO qualifying round, including holders France and last season's runners-up Italy, with the first of the 13 groups kicking off this week.

Under-19s set out on road to Georgia
Under-19s set out on road to Georgia ©Sportsfile

The 2016/17 UEFA European Under-19 Championship kicks off on Tuesday when the first of the qualifying round groups gets under way with teams bidding for a place in next summer's final tournament in Georgia.

Road to Georgia

  • The 52 qualifying round teams compete in 13 four-team mini-tournaments, with Lithuania hosting the first group from Tuesday including Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Azerbaijan.
  • Holders France travel to Czech Republic to take on the hosts, Estonia and Slovenia in Group 9 from 6 October.
  • The last group ends on 16 November in Montenegro.
  • The top two in each group along with the third-placed team with the best record against the leading pair in their section, join top seeds Spain in the elite round draw on 13 December.
  • The elite round is played in spring 2017 with the seven group winners joining hosts Georgia in the finals.
  • The finals run from 2 to 15 July, beginning with two groups of four from which the top two progress to the semi-finals. These will be held on 12 July, with the final three days later.

Qualifying round groups

Group 1 (6–11 October): Russia, Belgium*, Kazakhstan, Finland

Group 2 (6–11 October): Netherlands*, Norway, San Marino, Romania

Group 3 (25–30 October): Israel, Scotland, Liechtenstein, Andorra*

Group 4 (6–11 October): Germany, Republic of Ireland, Albania*, Gibraltar

Group 5 (4–9 October): Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Lithuania*, Azerbaijan

Group 6 (10–15 November): England, Greece, Wales*, Luxembourg

Group 7 (10–15 November): Switzerland, Italy, Hungary, Armenia*

Group 8 (10–15 November): Denmark, Portugal, Bulgaria*, Belarus

Group 9 (6–11 October): France, Czech Republic*, Estonia, Slovenia

Group 10 (9–14 November): Sweden, Serbia*, Moldova, Malta

Group 11 (6–11 October): FYR Macedonia, Slovakia, Northern Ireland, Poland*

Group 12 (11–16 November): Croatia, Montenegro*, Faroe Islands, Cyprus

Group 13 (6–11 October): Ukraine*, Turkey, Latvia, Iceland


Bye to elite round: Spain

Bye to final tournament: Georgia (hosts)