UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Under-19 roll of honour

France have become only the second team to win the UEFA European Under-19 Championship three times, although Spain still lead the way in overall triumphs.

France have claimed their third European title at Under-19 level
France have claimed their third European title at Under-19 level ©Sportsfile

France have become only the second side to claim three UEFA European Under-19 Championship titles – although Spain remain the competition's dominant force.

The 4-0 defeat of Italy at the Rhein-Neckar-Arena in Sinsheim adds to France's triumphs of 2005 and on home soil in 2010. Italy, meanwhile, missed the chance to add to their 2003 triumph and join Portugal (2003, 2014), England (2005, 2009) and Greece (2007, 2012) in losing two finals – though, unlike those three, the Azzurrini have at least claimed the trophy.

Germany lifted the trophy in 2008 – beating Italy in the final – and 2014, but it is Spain, eliminated by England in this season's elite round, who remain way out in front with seven triumphs in the U19's 15-year history. Spain won the inaugural competition in 2002 and went on to claim the title four times in its first six years, triumphing in 2004, 2006 and 2007 – when they became the first side to retain the trophy.

Successive triumphs followed again in 2011 and 2012, with the likes of Fernando Torres, Sergio Ramos, David Silva, Gerard Piqué and Álvaro Morata all lifting the trophy with La Riojita, before a seventh crown in Greece last summer.

Champions (hosts)
France (Germany)
2015: Spain (Greece)
 Germany (Hungary)
 Serbia (Lithuania)
2012: Spain (Estonia)
2011: Spain (Romania)
2010: France (France)
2009: Ukraine (Ukraine)
2008: Germany (Czech Republic)
2007: Spain (Austria)
2006: Spain (Poland)
2005: France (Northern Ireland)
2004: Spain (Switzerland)
2003: Italy (Liechtenstein)
Spain (Norway)

Selected for you