UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Spain win 2019 U19 EURO: at a glance

Spain beat holders Portugal to claim their eighth U19 title, five more than anyone else.

Highlights: Portugal 0-2 Spain

Winners: Spain
Runners-up: Portugal
Semi-finalists: France, Republic of Ireland

Top scorers

4 Gonçalo Ramos (Portugal)
2 Vitor Ferreira (Portugal)
2 Tiago Gouveia (Portugal)
2 Juan Miranda (Spain)
2 Manolo Portanova (Italy)
2 Ferran Torres (Spain)

Including qualifying

7 Ferran Torres (Spain)
Aljoša Matko (Slovenia)
6 Valentin Mihaila (Romania)
6 Loïs Openda (Belgium)


  • Spain won a record eighth title of the U19 era, five more than anyone else. Including the old U18 EURO, Spain now have nine titles to France's seven.
  • The previous time a team beat the reigning champions in a U19 or U18 final was when England defeated Turkey in 1993.
  • Spain reached a record ninth U19 final, with Portugal in outright second on five. Including the U18s, Spain were in their tenth final and Portugal their ninth, the two best totals.
  • Portugal were the second nation to reach three straight finals after Spain (2010 to 2012).
  • France became the first team to reach ten semi-finals.
  • Spain took part in a record 12th U19 final tournament.
  • Portugal's Gonçalo Ramos scored the first U19 semi-final hat-trick for 14 years while Ferran Torres became the first player to get the opening two goals in a U19 final since Alberto Bueno, also for Spain, in 2006.
  • Armenia were hosting their first UEFA final tournament.
Watch the top five goals of U19 EURO

Team of the tournament


Arnau Tenas (Spain & Barcelona)


Víctor Gómez (Spain & Espanyol)
Eric García (Spain & Manchester City)
Oumar Solet (France & Lyon)
Juan Miranda (Spain & Barcelona)


Maxence Caqueret (France & Lyon)
Antonio Blanco (Spain & Real Madrid)
Fábio Vieira (Portugal & Porto)


Ferrán Torres (Spain & Valencia)
Jonathan Afolabi (Republic of Ireland & unattached)
Félix Correia (Portugal & Sporting CP)

Northern Ireland 2020: qualifying round 8–15 October & 13–19 November 2019

All the results/highlights from Yerevan

Group stage

Highlights: Italy 0-3 Portugal

Sunday 14 July:
Group A
Armenia 1-4 Spain: Republican Stadium
Italy 0-3 Portugal: Banants Stadium

Highlights: Czechs 0-3 France

Monday 15 July:
Group B
Norway 1-1 Republic of Ireland: FFA Academy Stadium
Czech Republic 0-3 France: Republican Stadium

Highlights: Armenia 0-4 Italy

Wednesday 17 July:
Group A
Portugal 1-1 Spain: Banants Stadium
Armenia 0-4 Italy: Republican Stadium

Thursday 18 July:
Group B
Czech Republic 0-0 Norway: FFA Academy Stadium
Republic of Ireland 0-1 France: Banants Stadium

Saturday 20 July:
Group A
Portugal 4-0 Armenia: Republican Stadium
Spain 2-1 Italy: FFA Academy Stadium

Sunday 21 July:
Group B
France 1-0 Norway: Banants Stadium
Republic of Ireland 2-1 Czech Republic: FFA Academy Stadium

Knockout phase

Highlights: Spain pip France on penalties

Wednesday 24 July:

Portugal 4-0 Republic of Ireland: Banants Stadium
France 0-0 Spain (aet, Spain win 4-3 on pens): Republican Stadium

Saturday 27 July:
Portugal 0-2 Spain: Republican Stadium

Roll of honour

2019: Spain (Armenia)
2018: Portugal (Finland)
2017: England (Georgia)
2016: France (Germany)
2015: Spain (Greece)
2014: Germany (Hungary)
2013: Serbia (Lithuania)
2012: Spain (Estonia)
2011: Spain (Romania)
2010: France (France)
2009: Ukraine (Ukraine)
2008: Germany (Czech Republic)
2007: Spain (Austria)
2006: Spain (Poland)
2005: France (Northern Ireland)
2004: Spain (Switzerland)
2003: Italy (Liechtenstein)
2002: Spain (Norway)

Highlights: Portugal 4-0 Republic of Ireland


Spain 8
France 3
Germany 2
England 1
Italy 1
Portugal 1
Serbia 1
Ukraine 1

Top-two finishes

Spain 9
Italy 4
Spain 4
England 3
Germany 3
Greece 2
Czech Republic 1
Russia 1
Scotland 1
Serbia 1
Turkey 1
Ukraine 1

Top-four finishes

France 10
England 6
Czech Republic 5
Serbia and Montenegro/Serbia 5
Germany 4
Italy 4
Austria 3
Greece 3
Ukraine 3
Republic of Ireland
Croatia 1
Hungary 1
Netherlands 1
Russia 1
Scotland 1
Switzerland 1
Turkey 1

(bold: inc 2019) ... records apply only for UEFA European Under-19 Championship (from 2001/02)