UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Munich's Olympiastadion to stage final

The UEFA Women's Champions League final will be played at the Olympiastadion in Munich at 18.00CET on 17 May, with Steffi Jones announced as the final ambassador.

The Olympiastadion has staged many major football games
The Olympiastadion has staged many major football games ©Getty Images

The 2012 UEFA Women's Champions League final will be played at the Olympiastadion in Munich on Thursday 17 May.

UEFA today confirmed the venue for the match, which, as in previous years, is being played two days before the men's UEFA Champions League final in the same city. Former Germany defender Steffi Jones has also been announced as the ambassador for the final. She currently holds the post of director of girls and women's football at the German Football Association (DFB).

The 2003 FIFA Women's World Cup winner already works closely with UEFA in promoting the UEFA women's football development programme (WFDP). A number of activities centred around Munich, including a ticket sale launch, the cup handover and a trophy tour, will form part of her promotional campaign.

"I am proud to be the ambassador of the match that is the highlight of the European women's club football calendar," said the 39-year-old. "We need club competitions at the highest level, such as the UEFA Women's Champions League, to further develop the women's game around Europe. I am sure the final will be a great success and Germany is looking forward to welcoming the finalist teams to Munich in May."

This year, kick-off for the final has been moved to the earlier time of 18.00CET. UEFA director of competitions Giorgio Marchetti said: "UEFA is happy to be able to reach out to the ever-growing women's football fan base, especially the youngest among them. We believe the 6pm kick-off will further attract families and children to the stadium."

The Olympiastadion was built as the main venue of the 1972 Olympic Games and has hosted many major football matches, including the finals of the 1974 FIFA World Cup and 1988 UEFA European Championship. The European Champion Clubs' Cup final of 1979 and the UEFA Champions League finals in 1993 and 1997 were also played at the stadium, which was the home of FC Bayern München and TSV 1860 München until 2005.

It will be the third stadium to stage a UEFA Women's Champions League final after Madrid's Coliseum Alfonso Pérez (2010) and London's Craven Cottage (2011); prior to that the UEFA Women's Cup concluded with a two-legged final, and only twice between 2002 and 2009 was at least one leg not played in Germany. Two German sides remain in the running to reach the Munich final: 1. FFC Frankfurt and 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam, who lost last year's decider to Olympique Lyonnais.

Quarter-finals (14/15 and 21/22 March)
1: FC Malmö (SWE) v 1. FFC Frankfurt (GER)
2: Olympique Lyonnais (FRA, holders) v Brøndby IF (DEN)
3: 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam (GER) v FC Rossiyanka (RUS)
4: Arsenal LFC (ENG) v Göteborg FC (SWE)

Semi-finals (14/15 and 21/22 April)
1: Lyon or Brøndby v Potsdam or Rossiyanka
2: Arsenal or Göteborg v Malmö or Frankfurt

Final (17 May, Olympiastadion, Munich)
Winner semi-final 1 v Winner semi-final 2