UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Lyon beat Frankfurt's record

Lyon's fifth final victory means they have beaten FFC Frankfurt's record and have become the first team to win three years running.

UEFA Women's Champions League final highlights: Wolfsburg 1-4 Lyon (AET)

Lyon have set two pieces of history with their UEFA Women's Champions League final win against Wolfsburg.

They are now the first five-time winners, all achieved in the space of eight seasons, going one clear of FFC Frankfurt's record. And Lyon are also the only team to have won the trophy three years in a row; in fact no club has managed a hat-trick of consecutive UEFA Champions League wins for men or women, though Real Madrid could match that on Saturday.

Just by reaching their seventh final, Lyon had already moved ahead of Frankfurt's old record of six.

In the UEFA Women's Champions League era since 2009/10, France are now 5-4 up on Germany in wins, and 9-8 up on final appearances – 2014 runners-up Tyresö from Sweden are the only exception in either category.

Highlights Lyon make it four in Cardiff
  • Finals (winners in bold)

UEFA Women's Champions League
2017/18: Wolfsburg (GER) 1-4 aet Lyon (FRA)
2016/17: Lyon (FRA) 0-0 aet, 7-6 pens Paris Saint-Germain (FRA)
2015/16: Wolfsburg (GER) 1-1 aet, 3-4 pens Lyon (FRA)
2014/15: FFC Frankfurt (GER) 2-1 Paris Saint-Germain (FRA)
2013/14: Tyresö (SWE) 3-4 Wolfsburg (GER)
2012/13: Wolfsburg (GER) 1-0 Lyon (FRA)
2011/12: Lyon (FRA) 2-0 FFC Frankfurt (GER)
2010/11: Lyon (FRA) 2-0 Turbine Potsdam (GER)
2009/10: Lyon (FRA) 0-0 aet, 6-7 pens Turbine Potsdam (GER)
UEFA Women's Cup

2008/09: Zvezda-2005 (RUS) 1-7 agg Duisburg (GER)
2007/08: Umeå (SWE) 3-4 agg FFC Frankfurt (GER)
2006/07: Umeå (SWE)  0-1 agg Arsenal (ENG)
2005/06: Turbine Potsdam (GER) 2-7 agg FFC Frankfurt (GER)
2004/05: Djurgården (SWE) 1-5 agg Turbine Potsdam (GER)
2003/04: Umeå (SWE) 8-0 agg FFC Frankfurt (GER)
2002/03: Umeå (SWE) 7-1 agg Fortuna Hjørring (DEN)
2001/02: Umeå (SWE) 0-2 FFC Frankfurt (GER)

  • Most wins

By club 
Lyon (FRA) 5
FFC Frankfurt (GER) 4
Turbine Potsdam (GER)/Umeå (SWE)/Wolfsburg (GER) 2
Arsenal (ENG)/Duisburg (GER) 1

By country
Germany 9
Sweden 2
England 1

  • Most final appearances

By club
Lyon (FRA) 7
FFC Frankfurt (GER) 6
Umeå (SWE) 5
Turbine Potsdam (GER) 4
Wolfsburg (GER) 4
Paris Saint-Germain (FRA) 2
Arsenal (ENG)/Djurgården (SWE)/Duisburg (GER)/Fortuna Hjørring (DEN)/Tyresö (SWE)/Zvezda-2005 (RUS) 1

By country
Germany 15
France 9
Sweden 7
Denmark, England, Russia 1

(2006 final counts as two German appearances, 2017 counts as two French appearances)