UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Best Women's Player nominees: Marozsán, Henry, Šašić

Amandine Henry, Dzsenifer Marozsán and Celia Šašić are the three nominees for the 2014/15 UEFA Best Women's Player in Europe Award, with the final vote on 27 August.

Final three: Marozsán, Henry and Šašić

Amandine Henry, Dzsenifer Marozsán and Celia Šašić are the three nominees for the 2014/15 UEFA Best Women's Player in Europe Award, with the final vote on Thursday 27 August when a panel of 18 respected journalists with an interest in the female game will cast their votes.

From the original shortlist of 12 picked by the coaches of the 2014/15 UEFA Women's Champions League quarter-finalists and eight European FIFA Women's World Cup qualifiers, the journalistic panel have whittled that number down to three in a first round of voting. They will reassemble in Monaco, when Henry will aim to become the first non-German winner while Marozsán and former FFC Frankfurt club-mate Šašić attempt to make it three wins out of three for their nation.

Previous winners
2014: Nadine Kessler 
2013: Nadine Angerer

The nominees: full lowdown

Amandine Henry (France – Olympique Lyonnais)
• Defensive midfielder awarded Silver Ball for her showings at the 2015 World Cup finals
• Lifted her eighth successive French title with Lyon, and helped her side get to last 16 in Europe

Dzsenifer Marozsán (Germany – FFC Frankfurt)
• Skilful Hungarian-born midfielder won her first UEFA Women's Champions League, starring in the final
• Scored in the round of 16 as Germany went on to contest World Cup semi-finals

Celia Šašić (Germany – FFC Frankfurt, now retired)
• Dynamic forward scored opener as Frankfurt beat Paris 2-1 in UEFA Women's Champions League final
• Given Golden Boot after scoring six times and managing one assist – in fewer minutes than United States striker Carli Lloyd – at World Cup in last career matches

Other positions
4= Verónica Boquete (Spain – FFC Frankfurt, now Bayern München) 8 points
4= Anja Mittag (Germany – Rosengård, now Paris Saint-Germain) 8
6 Eugénie Le Sommer (France – Olympique Lyonnais) 7
7 Ramona Bachmann (Switzerland – Rosengård) 6
8 Wendie Renard (France – Olympique Lyonnais) 4
9 Caroline Seger (Sweden – Paris Saint-Germain) 3
10= Nadine Angerer (Germany – Portland Thorns) 2
10= Simone Laudehr (Germany – FFC Frankfurt) 2
12 Alexandra Popp (Germany – Wolfsburg) 0

*Shortlist involved 12 players as three were in joint tenth place after the first round

In total, 35 players received votes in the initial poll (those not in the 12-strong shortlist are named below in order of how they finished):
13= Shirley Cruz Traña (CRC – Paris Saint-Germain)
13= Stephanie Houghton (ENG – Manchester City)
13= Louisa Nécib (FRA – Olympique Lyonnais)
16= Élodie Thomis (FRA – Olympique Lyonnais)
16= Fara Williams (ENG – Liverpool)
18= Laure Boulleau (FRA – Paris Saint-Germain)
18= Lucy Bronze (ENG – Liverpool and Manchester City)
18= Kim Little (SCO – Seattle Reign)
18= Lotta Schelin (SWE – Olympique Lyonnais)
18= Lia Wälti (SUI – Turbine Potsdam)
23= Camille Abily (FRA – Olympique Lyonnais)
23= Lena Goessling (GER – VfL Wolfsburg)
23= Kheira Hamraoui (FRA – Paris Saint-Germain)
23= Tabea Kemme (GER – Turbine Potsdam)
23= Nadine Kessler (GER – Wolfsburg)
23= Manon Melis (NED – Göteborg)
23= Maren Mjelde (NOR – Göteborg and Avaldsnes)
30= Karen Bardsley (ENG – Manchester City)
30= Anna Blässe (GER – VfL Wolfsburg)
30= Kerstin Garefrekes (GER – FFC Frankfurt)
30= Caroline Graham Hansen (NOR – Wolfsburg)
30= Marie-Laure Delie (FRA – Paris Saint-Germain)
30= Jodie Taylor (ENG – Washington Spirit and Portland Thorns)

Selected for you