UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Lyon win five in a row: 2019/20 Women's Champions League at a glance

Lyon's supremacy continues after the holders once again beat Wolfsburg to the title.

Highlights: Wolfsburg 1-3 Lyon
  • Lyon beat Wolfsburg to win seventh title, fifth in a row
  • Vivianne Miedema, Emueje Ogbiagbevha, Berglind Thorvaldsdóttir top-score with ten
  • Lyon became first team to pass 100 matches in the competition this season
  • Lyon's Ada Hegerberg overtook Anja Mittag as all-time leading scorer in round of 16

Finals: 21 to 30 August, Bilbao & San Sebastián

Lyon hoist the trophy aloft in San Sebastián
Lyon hoist the trophy aloft in San SebastiánGetty Images

Sunday 30 August
Wolfsburg 1-3 Lyon
(Anoeta Stadium, San Sebastián)

Wednesday 26 August
Paris Saint-Germain 0-1 Lyon (San Mamés Stadium, Bilbao)
Tuesday 25 August

Wolfsburg 1-0 Barcelona (Anoeta Stadium, San Sebastián)

Saturday 22 August
Arsenal 1-2 Paris Saint-Germain (Anoeta Stadium, San Sebastián)
Lyon 2-1 Bayern München (San Mamés Stadium, Bilbao)
Friday 21 August

Glasgow City 1-9 Wolfsburg (Anoeta Stadium, San Sebastián)
Atlético Madrid 0-1 Barcelona (San Mamés Stadium, Bilbao)

Vivianne Miedema scores one of her ten goals for Arsenal
Vivianne Miedema scores one of her ten goals for ArsenalGetty Images

Top scorers

Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal) 10
Emueje Ogbiagbevha* (Minsk) 10
Berglind Thorvaldsdóttir* (Breidablik) 10
Pernille Harder (Wolfsburg) 9
Ada Hegerberg (Lyon) 9
Fenna Kalma* (Twente) 9
(*includes qualifying round)    


UEFA Women's Player of the Year: Pernille Harder (Wolfsburg)
Women's Coach of the Year: Jean-Luc Vasseur (Lyon)
Goalkeeper of the Season: Sarah Bouhaddi (Lyon)
Defender of the Season: Wendie Renard (Lyon)
Midfielder of the Season: Dzsenifer Marozsán (Lyon)
Forward of the Season: Pernille Harder (Wolfsburg)

Squad of the season


Sarah Bouhaddi (Lyon)
Christiane Endler (Paris Saint-Germain)
Sandra Paños (Barcelona)


Lucy Bronze (Lyon)
Paulina Dudek (Paris Saint-Germain)
Kathrin Hendrich (Bayern/Wolfsburg)
Dominique Janssen (Wolfsburg)
Sakina Karchaoui (Lyon)
Wendie Renard (Lyon)


Ingrid Engen (Wolfsburg)
Kheira Hamraoui (Barcelona)
Svenja Huth (Wolfsburg)
Saki Kumagai (Lyon)
Kim Little (Arsenal)
Amel Majri (Lyon)
Dzsenifer Marozsán (Lyon)
Alex Popp (Wolfsburg)


Delphine Cascarino (Lyon)
Kadidiatou Diani (Paris Saint-Germain)
Caroline Graham Hansen (Barcelona)
Pernille Harder (Wolfsburg)
Jenni Hermoso (Barcelona)
Marie-Antoinette Katoto (Paris Saint-Germain)

Watch the top five UEFA Women's Champions League goals of the season


  • Lyon won their seventh title and fifth in a row, extending their records.
  • Lyon were in their ninth final and set a new record of reaching five in a row (breaking their own best from between 2010 and 2013).
  • Sarah Bouhaddi and Wendie Renard were appearing in their ninth finals; Eugénie Le Sommer in her eighth.
  • Bouhaddi, Le Sommer and Renard have appeared in all seven of Lyon's final wins (Le Sommer scoring in three of them). Renard increased her record number of competition appearances to 88.
  • Bouhaddi, Renard, Le Sommer and Alex Popp have now played in all of the competition-record eight meetings between Wolfsburg and Lyon.
  • This season Lyon became the first club to appear in 100 UEFA women's club competitions games and register 80 wins, while Ada Hegerberg, injured for the August finals, broke Anja Mittag's old record to become all-time top scorer on 53 goals, which took her 50 matches.
  • With seven straight victories in 2019/20, Lyon completed only the second perfect season in the competition's history after Umeå's nine-win streak in 2003/04.
  • Sara Björk Gunnarsdóttir became the first player from Iceland to play on the winning side in a final. Saki Kumagai was the first player from Asia to score in a final.

Roll of honour

Semi-final highlights: Paris 0-1 Lyon

UEFA Women's Champions League
2019/20: Wolfsburg (GER) 1-3 Lyon (FRA: San Sebastián
2018/19: Lyon (FRA) 4-1 Barcelona (ESP): Budapest
2017/18: Wolfsburg (GER) 1-4 aet Lyon (FRA): Kyiv
2016/17: Lyon (FRA) 0-0 aet, 7-6 pens Paris Saint-Germain (FRA): Cardiff
2015/16: Wolfsburg (GER) 1-1 aet, 3-4 pens Lyon (FRA): Reggio Emilia
2014/15: FFC Frankfurt (GER) 2-1 Paris Saint-Germain (FRA): Berlin
2013/14: Tyresö (SWE) 3-4 Wolfsburg (GER): Lisbon
2012/13: Wolfsburg (GER) 1-0 Lyon (FRA): London
2011/12: Lyon (FRA) 2-0 FFC Frankfurt (GER): Munich
2010/11: Lyon (FRA) 2-0 Turbine Potsdam (GER): London
2009/10: Lyon (FRA) 0-0 aet, 6-7 pens Turbine Potsdam (GER): Getafe
UEFA Women's Cup

2008/09: Zvezda-2005 (RUS) 1-7 agg Duisburg (GER)
2007/08: Umeå (SWE) 3-4 agg FFC Frankfurt (GER)
2006/07: Umeå (SWE)  0-1 agg Arsenal (ENG)
2005/06: Turbine Potsdam (GER) 2-7 agg FFC Frankfurt (GER)
2004/05: Djurgården (SWE) 1-5 agg Turbine Potsdam (GER)
2003/04: Umeå (SWE) 8-0 agg FFC Frankfurt (GER)
2002/03: Umeå (SWE) 7-1 agg Fortuna Hjørring (DEN)
2001/02: Umeå (SWE) 0-2 FFC Frankfurt (GER): Frankfurt

  • Most wins
One more title for Lyon's record tally
One more title for Lyon's record tallyGetty Images

By club 
Lyon (FRA) 7
FFC Frankfurt (GER) 4
Turbine Potsdam (GER), Umeå (SWE), Wolfsburg (GER) 2
Arsenal (ENG), Duisburg (GER) 1

By country
Germany 9
Sweden 2
England 1

  • Most final appearances
Semi-final highlights: Wolfsburg 1-0 Barcelona

By club
Lyon (FRA) 9
FFC Frankfurt (GER) 6
Umeå (SWE) 5
Wolfsburg (GER) 5
Turbine Potsdam (GER) 4
Paris Saint-Germain (FRA) 2
Arsenal (ENG), Barcelona (ESP), Djurgården (SWE), Duisburg (GER), Fortuna Hjørring (DEN), Tyresö (SWE), Zvezda-2005 (RUS) 1

By country
Germany 16
France 11
Sweden 7
Denmark, England, Russia, Spain 1
(2006 final counts as two German appearances, 2017 counts as two French appearances)