UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Barcelona triumph: 2020/21 Women's Champions League at a glance

Barcelona are champions for the first time after the end of Lyon's five-year reign: 2020/21 at a glance.

Barcelona are champions for the first time
Barcelona are champions for the first time UEFA via Getty Images
  • Barcelona beat Chelsea 4-0 to win first title
  • Barcelona become 8th different champions in 20th season
  • First winners from Spain, joining England, France, Germany, Sweden
  • Chelsea were appearing in first final
  • Lyon's five-year reign ended in quarter-finals
  • Results round by round


2021 final highlights: Chelsea 0-4 Barcelona

Sunday 16 May:
Chelsea 0-4 Barcelona
(Gamla Ullevi, Gothenburg)

Beaten semi-finalists: Bayern München, Paris Saint-Germain

Beaten quarter-finalists: Lyon (holders), Manchester City, Rosengård, Wolfsburg

Watch the final in full

Top scorers

Top five goals of the 2020/21 UEFA Women's Champions League

6 Jenni Hermoso (Barcelona)
6 Fran Kirby (Chelsea)
Lieke Martens (Barcelona)
Sam Mewis (Manchester City)


  • Barcelona are the first Spanish winners, joining clubs from England, France, Germany and Sweden.
  • Asisat Oshoala of Nigeria is the first African player to win the competition.
  • Ji So-yun of Chelsea was the first South Korean to play in a final.
  • Lyon's five-year reign as champions was ended by Paris in the quarter-finals; that halted OL's competition-record unbeaten run at 31 matches, stretching back to their 2016/17 semi-final second leg.
  • Lyon became the first team past 400 competition goals (they have 405, with the next best Arsenal's 242).
  • Brøndby, KÍ Klaksvík, SFK 2000 Sarajevo all made record 18th appearances (out of a possible 20). Brøndby and Sarajevo have appeared in 18 editions in a row.
  • Wendie Renard increased her record number of appearances to 93; her total of 71 wins is 17 more than Frankfurt, the club second in the ranking to Lyon.

Squad of the season

Goalkeepers: Ann-Katrin Berger (Chelsea), Christiane Endler (Paris Saint-Germain), Sandra Paños (Barcelona)

Defenders: Magdalena Eriksson (Chelsea), Marina Hegering (Bayern München), Kathrin Hendrich (Wolfsburg), Ashley Lawrence (Paris Saint-Germain), Mapi León (Barcelona), Irene Paredes (Paris Saint-Germain)

Midfielders: Aitana Bonmatí (Barcelona), Grace Geyoro (Paris Saint-Germain), Patri Guijarro (Barcelona), Sophie Ingle (Chelsea), Sydney Lohmann (Bayern München), Lina Magull (Bayern München), Sam Mewis (Manchester City), Alexia Putellas (Barcelona)

Bonmatí's Player of the Match final display for Barcelona

Forwards: Caroline Graham Hansen (Barcelona), Pernille Harder (Chelsea), Fran Kirby (Chelsea), Jenni Hermoso (Barcelona), Sam Kerr (Chelsea), Lieke Martens (Barcelona)

Roll of honour

UEFA Women's Champions League
2020/21: Chelsea (ENG) 0-4 Barcelona (ESP): Gothenburg
2019/20: Wolfsburg (GER) 1-3 Lyon (FRA): San Sebastián
2018/19: Lyon (FRA) 4-1 Barcelona (ESP): Budapest
2017/18: Wolfsburg (GER) 1-4 aet Lyon (FRA): Kyiv
2016/17: Lyon (FRA) 0-0 aet, 7-6 pens Paris Saint-Germain (FRA): Cardiff
2015/16: Wolfsburg (GER) 1-1 aet, 3-4 pens Lyon (FRA): Reggio Emilia
2014/15: FFC Frankfurt (GER) 2-1 Paris Saint-Germain (FRA): Berlin
2013/14: Tyresö (SWE) 3-4 Wolfsburg (GER): Lisbon
2012/13: Wolfsburg (GER) 1-0 Lyon (FRA): London
2011/12: Lyon (FRA) 2-0 FFC Frankfurt (GER): Munich
2010/11: Lyon (FRA) 2-0 Turbine Potsdam (GER): London
2009/10: Lyon (FRA) 0-0 aet, 6-7 pens Turbine Potsdam (GER): Getafe
UEFA Women's Cup

2008/09: Zvezda-2005 (RUS) 1-7 agg Duisburg (GER)
2007/08: Umeå (SWE) 3-4 agg FFC Frankfurt (GER)
2006/07: Umeå (SWE)  0-1 agg Arsenal (ENG)
2005/06: Turbine Potsdam (GER) 2-7 agg FFC Frankfurt (GER)
2004/05: Djurgården (SWE) 1-5 agg Turbine Potsdam (GER)
2003/04: Umeå (SWE) 8-0 agg FFC Frankfurt (GER)
2002/03: Umeå (SWE) 7-1 agg Fortuna Hjørring (DEN)
2001/02: Umeå (SWE) 0-2 FFC Frankfurt (GER): Frankfurt

  • Most wins
Watch Barcelona lift the trophy

By club 
Lyon (FRA) 7
FFC Frankfurt (GER) 4
Turbine Potsdam (GER), Umeå (SWE), Wolfsburg (GER) 2
Arsenal (ENG), Barcelona (ESP), Duisburg (GER) 1

By country
Germany 9
France 7
Sweden 2
England, Spain 1

  • Most final appearances

By club
Lyon (FRA) 9
FFC Frankfurt (GER) 6
Umeå (SWE), Wolfsburg (GER) 5
Turbine Potsdam (GER) 4
Barcelona (ESP), Paris Saint-Germain (FRA) 2
Arsenal (ENG), Chelsea (ENG), Djurgården (SWE), Duisburg (GER), Fortuna Hjørring (DEN), Tyresö (SWE), Zvezda-2005 (RUS) 1

By country
Germany 16
France 11
Sweden 7
England, Spain 2
Denmark, Russia 1

(2006 final counts as two German appearances, 2017 counts as two French appearances)