UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

France, England join Netherlands, Germany as top seeds

France and England join hosts the Netherlands and holders Germany in Pot 1 for the draw, streamed live at 17:30CET on 8 November in Rotterdam's Luxor Theatre.

Holders Germany want to win a seventh straight title
Holders Germany want to win a seventh straight title ©UEFA.com

The seedings have been confirmed for the UEFA Women's EURO 2017 finals draw, streamed live on UEFA.com at 17:30CET on 8 November from Rotterdam's Luxor Theatre.

Four pots have been formed, based on each team's ranking in the UEFA Women's National Team Coefficients following the end of the qualifying group stage. Joining hosts the Netherlands and holders Germany in Pot 1 are France and England, who just pipped Sweden – in terms of coefficient points – on the last day of qualifying.

Women's EURO debutants Switzerland are in Pot 2 while one of the four sides that will be making their maiden appearance in any senior final tournament, Scotland, are in Pot 3 along with Denmark, semi-finalists in Sweden in 2013. Allotted to Pot 4 are debutants Austria and Belgium, and play-off winners Portugal, also making their finala bow.

Pot 1: Netherlands (hosts, in Group A), Germany (holders), France, England

Pot 2: Norway, Sweden, Spain, Switzerland

Pot 3: Italy, Iceland, Scotland, Denmark

Pot 4: Austria, Belgium, Russia, Portugal

Draw procedure
The Netherlands are automatically placed in position 1 of Group A and the other Pot 1 teams will be drawn to fill that berth in the other three sections. Each group will then be allocated one team each from the remaining three pots, drawn in the order Pot 4, Pot 3 and Pot 2.

The draw ceremony will presented by Dutch sports journalist Diana Kuip and be conducted by the all-time Netherlands top scorer Manon Melis, and a member of Germany’s UEFA Women's EURO 2013 winning side, Nadine Kessler.

Media wishing to attend the draw must apply by 1 November by emailing pers@weuro2017.nl, indicating their name, organisation and category (written press, radio, TV, photographer).

Ticket sales
Ticket sales will also be launched at the draw ceremony, with tickets available from 19.00CET on 8 November on www.weuro2017.nl/tickets.

Competition system
The top two sides in each group will progress to the quarter-finals.

Breda: Stadium Rat Verlegh
Deventer: Stadium De Adelaarshorst
Doetinchem: Stadium De Vijverberg
Enschede: FC Twente Stadium
Rotterdam: Stadium Sparta-Het Kasteel
Tilburg: Stadium Koning Willem II
Utrecht: Stadium Galgenwaard

The Netherlands will be in Group A, playing group games in Utrecht, Rotterdam and Tilburg. Each team will play their three group matches in three different venues, with cities staging at least one game from each section and a knockout match except for Utrecht and also Enschede, which only hosts a semi-final and the final.

Group stage:
Match one
Sunday 16 July: Netherlands v A2 (Utrecht), A3 v A4 (Doetinchem)
Monday 17 July: B1 v B2 (Breda), B3 v B4 (Rotterdam)
Tuesday 18 July: C1 v C2 (Tilburg), C3 v C4 (Deventer)
Wednesday 19 July: D1 v D2 (Utrecht), D3 v D3 (Doetinchem)

Match two
Thursday 20 July: Netherlands v A3 (Rotterdam), A2 v A4 (Breda)
Friday 21 July: B1 v B3 (Tilburg), B2 v B4 (Deventer)
Saturday 22 July: C1 v C3 (Utrecht), C2 v C4 (Doetinchem)
Sunday 23 July: D1 v D3 (Breda), D2 v D4 (Rotterdam)

Match three
Monday 24 July: A4 v Netherlands (Tilburg), A2 v A3 (Deventer)
Tuesday 25 July: B4 v B1 (Utrecht), B2 v B3 (Doetinchem)
Wednesday 26 July: C4 v C1 (Breda), C2 v C3 (Rotterdam)
Thursday 27 July: D4 v D1 (Tilburg), D2 v D3 (Deventer)

Saturday 29 July: Winner A v Runner-up B (QF1, Doetinchem), Winner B v Runner-up A (QF2, Rotterdam)
Sunday 30 July: Winner C v Runner-up D (QF3, Tilburg), Winner D v Runner-up C (QF4, Deventer)

Thursday 3 August: QF1 v QF4 (Enschede), QF2 v QF3 (Breda)

Sunday 6 August (Enschede)

Selected for you